2014 Quilt Show in Phoenix

What a great day I had. DH dropped me off at the AZ State Fairgrounds in Phoenix around 12:15 p.m. and it was off to the fabric race! Three and a half hours later, I had a few photos, though not as many as I would have liked, a bit of new fabric, some Watkins products, and two sets of clips to hold my quilt rolls when I quilt on my machine. A very tiring day, but a wonderful experience.

At one point I heard a couple of people coughing and as I walked by their booth, I thought to myself, “Don’t breathe, don’t breathe.” I kept my fingers crossed that my exposure to the masses wouldn’t bring me anything ugly. I was wrong. I had trouble sleeping last night for all of the nasal drainage–finally got up at 5:30 a.m. and took an antihistamine. A pot of coffee later, my throat felt a bit better, but I was exhausted so back to bed I went. Slept off and on for most of the day and tonight I’m better, but still nursing a slight sore throat. I don’t know if you can come down with a respiratory virus in less than 24 hrs. but no matter, the result is the same.

Here’s my ‘sweet deal’ on fabrics: I found a Charm Pack of 48 5″x5″ squares of fabric on discount for $5, and later on at a different vendor I found the same fabric in a 1 yard piece for $6! Whoo hoo!

IMG_1795a

Also pictured are some quilts that I thought would make nice future projects. I especially liked the one that had the fish … a fellow quilting friend made a hot pad/mug rug that was a puzzle to me — until she said in her blog that it was supposed to be a carrot. I could have sworn she had made a Nemo pad, except the black and white stripes were missing. LOL

IMG_1793a

Blessings to all, be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. Life is meant to be enjoyed…

IMG_1794a

IMG_1789a  IMG_1790a IMG_1791a IMG_1792a

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2014 Quilt Show in Phoenix

  1. mageb says:

    ….and when are you coming home to watch trains again. Hugs.

    Like

  2. tehachap says:

    It’s looking like some time in April. Are you thinking of a visit??

    Like

Leave a Reply

