Quilting means learning

Image

This is the beginning of my latest quilt. The sashing between the rows hasn’t been added yet, so it’s just the rows put on my couch (my design board, if you will) so I can see how the colors of the blocks fit. I found a site through a friend’s quilting blog that I want to share with you.

http://www.generations-quilt-patterns.com

My friend’s blog is “Every Stitch A Prayer” and I’ve learned quite a bit from her over the few years I’ve known her. Here’s a link to HER blog: https://plus.google.com/111752422065289813784/posts

I’ll be sewing on this new quilt today, finishing stitching around each of the butterflies. I haven’t decided how to quilt the rest of the quilt, but I trust my Inner Guide to find the answer and show me what to do.

Speaking of Inner Guides, the other night we attended the Homeowner’s Association meeting here in the resort. The Board President announced that in the last meeting they had failed to take a vote on a project that had been discussed. There was an immediate outcry from several people in the audience that they didn’t know what had been discussed and how could a vote be taken when people didn’t know what the vote was all about. At this point, my ‘Inner Guide’ prompted me to raise my hand. I was recognized by the Board President, got up from my seat and stood at the microphone before the board (and the hundred plus attendees). I stated that the matter being voted on HAD been discussed in a previous meeting, and all that was transpiring at this point was a formality that should have been taken care of at the LAST meeting. I stated that if people had any objection to the proposal, it should have been voiced that evening, NOT NOW. Someone in the back of the room started yelling out in rebuttal–I promptly turned around, pointed my finger at the speaker and announced politely, “I have the floor.” The woman quit yelling and the room got quiet. I thanked the Board for allowing me to speak and returned to my seat. While I was at the microphone speaking (and I know some of you public speakers will identify with this), I had no recollection of what I said. My ‘Inner Guide’ was speaking, and it must have been good because my neighbor complimented me on it. Then, last night as I was reading the bulletin board on the wall of the Recreation Hall, a couple called out to me from the pool area. They asked if I was the person who had spoke at the Homeowner’s Association meeting. I said yes, I was. They complimented me on my speaking and said they were glad I spoke up. I thanked them and commented that it was irritating that there were so many ways to get information about what’s going on in the Resort, and if people would actually LISTEN when the Board talked about proposals, they would be able to ask intelligent questions rather than just complaining about their lack of information. 

Off my soapbox…

Back to quilting. I’m learning that it’s more than just cutting pieces of fabric and sewing them back together again. Thanks for listening (or reading, as it were). Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Never be afraid to speak up and voice your opinion. 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

