Diaries and Quilt Blocks

I kept a diary as Tehachap at http://www.opendiary.com for a number of years. Open Diary died last year. I was able to download and save all of my entries — thankfully. But then what would I do about my urge to write about my life? Writers are compelled to write. So began the search for a new place to put my stories.

I’m not as faithful a writer as some of my friends are; like Georgette, who is responsible for leading me to Open Diary. Many years ago, my aunt urged me to begin writing on a more professional basis, so I joined the “Creative Writers” group in Point Loma. They were (now disbanded) a Community College Course, offered through the San Diego Community College. I met “Mage” aka Georgette at this workshop, and although I’ve written about our meeting in the past, I’ll just say that when I first saw her in the class, I mentally connected to her and had the strongest feeling that we were going to be fast friends. And so we were, and are. Mage moved her OD diary to http://www.Prosebox.com and began writing there. Apparently, a number of other “OD Refugees” joined her. My other blogging and my quilting friend, Bellezza, has a very nice blog at https://plus.google.com/111752422065289813784/posts. Her blog is “Every Stitch a Prayer” and she posts almost every day. I’ve learned a lot from her over the years of our friendship. 

Back to Georgette, she urged me to move to Prosebox the other day, but after signing up and trying to learn how to use the site, I realized it just wasn’t a good fit for me. So, here I am, and here I’ll stay. On to the update for my quilting. 

It doesn’t seem that long ago that I began the Block of the Month project with my quilting friend, Bellezza. But here we are on month 11 of the project. We’ve agreed to do this again except we’ll follow the project on a different site. The one we’ve been valiantly using for the past year had numerous errors and we had to ‘fly by the seat of our pants’ several times. That does not make for fun sewing. Here is my next to last block. It was a bit different, as they all are, but this one had more angles to it than before. Once I had it laid out on my cutting table, I could pick up pieces, walk them to the sewing machine and stitch. The work went quickly and for the most part very well. I only had to rip out one seam where the fabric had slipped and the stitching had just barely caught a thread of the fabric’s edge. I knew that wouldn’t hold so out came my ripper.

Image

On another note, I’ve been keeper of the Tehachapi Depot Railroad Museum’s web site for a couple of years. Being gone over 5 months this past winter caused all of the Joomla! information to disappear from my brain. When I got back, I learned that there were several things that needed to be done to update the web site. I managed (with some help from Richard Sparks (http://www.sparksart.com) the true Web Master, to get the site updated. Not the greatest on one page, but usable. In talking to the manager of the gift shop, I learned that someone was willing to take over the web site maintenance. They were afraid to step on my toes — I told them not to worry about my toes as they’d be more than willing to step aside. So, now I wait for the call from the new volunteer for the web site. Happiness is … it’s not that I didn’t enjoy learning/maintaining the web site, but if I have to re-learn everything every time we go to Arizona for the winter, it would no longer be fun.

Life is so very good at times. Be safe, be well, and please be happy. 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Diaries and Quilt Blocks

  1. mageb says:

    Easy Diary is EWS’s take on OD. Many have moved there now that it is open again. I don’t have a problem with Prosebox except the coding is different. I use HTML to post, and Prosebox uses what ever the phones and tablets use.

    It’s a great block. I’ve finally got my machine out again but can’t find the cover or quilt platform. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

