2009 Block of the Month Pioneer Sampler

2009 Block of the Month Pioneer Sampler

In July of 2013, my quilting friend, Bellezza and I agreed to do a Block Of The Month project together. We both searched the internet for BOM sets. Ultimately, we decided on the 2009 Pioneer Sampler. We met and after a bit of discussion about themes and colors, we decided on sizes and fabrics.

The project included instructions for both a crib size quilt and a twin size quilt. I had another twin bed downstairs that was in need of a quilt top, so I opted for the twin. Bellezza didn’t want to make that large a quilt so she chose the crib size. We even traded fabrics at times, when one of us needed a particular color. I haven’t seen her completed quilt top and at this point, I think she’s unsure whether she’ll actually make a quilt top with her blocks. She’s become very disillusioned with this particular project, not because of the concept itself, or even doing it with me — it was the lack of instructions (and at the very last block, the incorrect fabric requirements) that turned her off.

After e-mailing the people who sponsored the 12th block, I received an apology and the correct instructions for the twin size block. I failed to ask for corrected instructions for Bellezza’s crib size block. I will rectify that today, and hopefully, she won’t have already sewn this block based on incorrect information.

Bellezza and I have already decided to do another BOM, but have selected a different web site and pattern from “The Quilting Gallery.” Called “Summer Nights,” it promises to be much easier to work through. I’m thinking that I’ll need to add several borders, and/or more blocks to make it a queen size quilt. I don’t have any walls that can accept a wall hanging–not even a very small one, so I must make the quilt to be usable for someone’s bed. I’ll have to consider who to make one for next.

I’ve finished reading Stieg Larsson’s “The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest” and am disappointed to learn that he passed away before his book(s) were published. He was an excellent writer, and I thoroughly enjoyed reading all three Millennium books. I understand that ultimately he planned on writing a series of 10 books. His next in the series is currently being written by another author with the assistance of Larsson’s partner. It’s due to come out in 2015. I’m curious as to how closely it will match Larsson’s style of writing.

Be safe, be well and be happy. Be grateful for what you have in this life–and for the things you DON’T have. Blessings to all.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

