Letting Go

For years I’ve nursed an addiction to paper, ink and arts & Crafts. I’ve also, at times, fed an addiction for fabric and the creations that can be made with it. I’ve used both to express the creative part of my personality. 

There comes a time in our lives when we must think about our ‘collections’ and how much stuff we’ve accumulated over the years. It’s either let go of things now or face the fact that your kids (or strangers) are going to be sorting through it after we’re gone. It’s better to face our mortality early on in life and pass along ‘stuff’ to the kids while they’re young and can get some use from it. Thus, I’ve written to Diane (our Daughter-in-law and mother to our two grandsons, ages 14 and 8), and offered to give her my stamping and paper art supplies. She said they would come up and take a look at what I have. As I’ve gone through my cupboards and storage spaces, I’ve become a bit embarrassed at the sheer amount of ‘stuff’ that I’m giving them. As Robert says, “They don’t have a big house — where are they going to put all of that stuff??” Well, hearing that made me feel bad. Looking at it in a dollars and cents point of view, it’s several hundred dollars investment. Beyond the raw supplies, I have art that I’ve swapped/received from other artists over the years. What do I do with that??

What do other artists do with art projects in which they’ve participated? Even if I were to frame all of the artwork, I don’t have sufficient wall space to do hang everything I have. Boxes of artwork that are important to me, won’t mean a thing to my kids (or THEIR kids).

A dilemma, to be sure.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be grateful for the mental capacity to KNOW you have things that can/should be passed on. Enjoy your life…

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Letting Go

  1. mageb says:

    You keep the art you like, and give away the rest. Frame it and hang it. Supplies? I gave all my quilting fabrics to a lady who teaches at the local adult school. Art stuff….kids. I kept all the books except the how to books on quilting. I felt lots freer. 🙂

    Like

  2. tehachap says:

    When I clicked on your name, it took me to OpenDiary…strange… Do you remember the name of the teacher at the adult school?? I took sewing classes for years at the adult school (Midway Adult). My teacher was Patti Fuhrer, but I knew a couple of the other teachers names too, though they escape me right now. 😉

    Like

  3. I know of what you speak… and have had to gift and sell off a chunk of “things”… it’s oddly liberating, and the letting go finally puts the things that really feed you into the spotlight. Life is ever a journey, my friend… go gently. 😉 xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

