Revisiting the Past

Several years ago I belonged to an online artist group called Belle Papier. I felt honored and awed to be among these very artistic and creative souls. My ‘shadow self’ didn’t feel like I was of their caliber, but I felt that if I behaved myself, sat very quietly in the background and soaked up their wisdom and courage, then perhaps one day I would feel comfortable and could count myself as an artist. Over years, the group grew and matured and it faltered at times, changed leaders, but remained a constant until the original mentor/developer of the group decided that it needed to be put to rest.

We all moved on, some of us stayed connected in one way or another, but the core of having all of these artists and great minds in one meeting place didn’t happen for a long time.

Recently, I wrote to the previous leader of Belle Papier just to check in with her to see where she was in life. I had been sorting through my art materials and came across so much that reminded me of Belle Papier. I wondered what other members did with their artwork. You can only hang so many pieces of art in your home… yet I couldn’t bring myself to dispose of things I’d created/swapped with other artists. When she responded she seemed very glad to hear from me and replied that there was actually a group of artists on Facebook. It didn’t take me long to find them, and I immediately asked to join (it’s a closed group). I was wholeheartedly accepted. I was happy to the point of tears. All together and in a new place… Oh my… it’s like a homecoming of sorts, with names of friends that I recognized from the past. Such a wonderful thing to have friends who value you and welcome you into the fold again. And, just as in the past, we’re setting up a swap of ATC’s. I haven’t looked at ATC’s in ages. But I still have a few of the ones I’ve made. Sadly, the 3-ring binder that I’d created and kept at the scrapbook store disappeared after I quit volunteering there. The owner of the store felt bad, so she gave me the ATC Spinner that had been on display in the store. It contained a few dozen ATCs I’d received in trades. Happily, several ATCs were by members of Belle Papier. I took photographs of some of the ATC’s and have posted them to the group’s page with simply the word… Memories. Memories are a good thing.

Image

 

Image

On to other creative topics, I am very close to finishing the latest Butterfly quilt that I’m making for my longtime friend, Carol Sveilich. It’s turning out really nice, and I would love to post a photo, but won’t until after I know she’s received it.

Not much else going on … be safe, be well, and please be happy. Life is lived one moment at a time–enjoy the moments!

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Revisiting the Past

  1. Glad you “found” us, too, Carol! Feel free to ask others to join as well, if you think they might like the community. We are inclusive and open hearted & minded (those are requisites for a good time). 🙂
    Adriane xo

    Like

  2. mageb says:

    Those are so lovely. No hand eye coordination here. I can do big gestural things. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

