Sorting, Remembering, Centering

For twenty-some years I’ve been acquiring papers, inks, and items that I felt had an artistic value.

Back in the Early 80’s when I first began creating handmade greeting cards, I attended rubber stamp workshops and took classes. I had no idea what my style was, or if I even had one. There was no real direction to my effort–just repeating instructions created by someone else. Eventually, I began to draw more comfort from putting physical items together rather than just applying ink to stamp to paper. I began to realize that I did have a preferred style of creating and it was collage. 

From this point I began to experiment with the effects of paints, mediums, chalks and colored pens. I played with watercolor paints, tried my hand at making marbled paper, and had fun making cards using the beautiful altered papers I had created.

When does one reach the point of saturation in the acquisition of things? Hopefully, one would reach that point before they turn into a true hoarder of things. Letting go of things is often difficult–there’s memories attached to each item, and with those memories, lies an emotion. 

Personally, I realize that I can’t keep everything I’ve acquired in this life until the day I die, because by doing so, it makes dealing with things I’ve acquired an odious task for my loved ones. I don’t have a death wish nor terminal illness–what I have is realization of a saturation point in acquiring. I’d like to let go of a number of things in order to simplify my life, to bring order to a part of my creativity, so I can be more effective and selective as an artist. Less is more… There’s a certain freedom in letting go of things and I’m beginning to really enjoy that emotion more than the one(s) attached to the things I own.

I’ve come across numerous thank you cards from other artists and crafters who have crossed my path over the years. I told my husband that seeing all of these very positive comments makes me feel like a worthwhile person. We all need that touch of validation in our life from time to time.

I have no idea why I create (nor why I write); it’s just an inner urge that I have to yield to.

I came across a nice quotation in my sorting, “Sometimes the best way to figure out who you are is to get to that place where you don’t have to be anything else.” I don’t know who the author is, but the words seem to fit where I am in my life right now. So letting go of most of what I’ve acquired is a fitting thing to do for now. Happiness is …

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. 

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sorting, Remembering, Centering

  1. bronsonbitsandpieces says:

    I hear you, loud and clear. I certainly get it. It’s as if you’re reading my mind.

    Like

  2. mageb says:

    I’m so glad that you are writing here more often. I’ve missed you, and these entries bring you freshly to mind every morning. Hugs to both of you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

