Keeping Up With Friends

I have several friends who blog and tonight I was catching up on one of them and found that she and her husband had two truly terrible things happen to them — all in the same day–and yet she had a very special anniversary to celebrate so there was one or two moments when the sorrows of earlier in the day could be set aside and happier thoughts brought to mind for awhile. After posting my condolences to my friend, I happened to catch another comment written just before mine. It was from another Blogger who remarked she’d been on OD, and was wishing that all the OD diarists could be together again. So I followed her name to her blog and learned that she’d turned 70 in 2011, and sadly, her husband passed away in February of this year. Not what I was expecting to see. I wrote a comment on her blog, offering my condolences on the passing of her husband and offering my WordPress address in case she wanted to keep in touch by reading my entries here. I told her, with her permission, I would add her blog to the list of blogs I follow. 

Beyond the fact that we’re close to the same age, one of her comments made me pause for a moment… She said, “Much to learn about solo living at my age.” I can just imagine. And thinking of that makes me think about my neighbor, who lost her husband just a couple of months after moving into the house next door. I don’t want to ever find out if I could learn to live alone. I’m very content with my life and would like to keep it this way for as long as possible.

I spoke with the younger son earlier tonight and he and his family will be joining our niece when she comes up for a visit this next weekend. I need to get busy and get the downstairs ready for their arrival — beds to make, linens to put out, dust bunnies collected and put away; LOL We also have certain food traditions to uphold, and that means a visit to the grocery store to load up on Peanut M&M’s, Bridgford Frozen Rolls (for Monkey Bread), graham crackers, marshmallows and Hershey’s Chocolate bars for S’Mores, diet Cokes, and more trail mix. I have ice cream and will make some banana bread and cookies to have on hand, so it’ll be a good weekend. 

Not much else to report other than our weather has been absolutely wonderful. The temperatures have been in the mid-70’s and it’s just been beautiful. 

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. Life is so very short at times. We never know from one moment to the next when our world is going to be forever changed, as my friend’s world was changed today. Take care … 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

