Thankful for Dental Insurance

I went into the dentist earlier this evening, for what I thought would be a ten-minute consultation. It turned out to be a longer visit than I expected, and it included two root canals. Thankfully, I have dental insurance. This is the first time in years that I’ve had to use it for anything other than the free cleaning and x-rays. After working out how I’m going to pay for the treatment, the finance gal smiled and asked if I wanted to do the procedure today–I thought to myself, “No, I really don’t want to do it today, or any other day, but I knew I had to have it done so I asked her how long it would take. “An hour to an hour and a half, she says, and then she says it may take longer if there’s more than one root to the tooth.” I thought about having to come back and ultimately facing having the work done and that didn’t appeal to me, so I said, “Okay, let’s do it.” I went in at 5:15 p.m. and came out at 6:45 p.m., so the time factor was right on. I could even speak a little bit without drooling too horribly bad. 

I have two more appointments to go to finish the reconstruction work. Shouldn’t be more than 15 min. appointments. Cool … 

What would have been over $2,000 without my dental insurance is less than 1/4 of that for two root canals. Am I thankful I kept paying that dental insurance each and every month? You bet I am. It’s more than paid me back for the years I’ve paid into it. 

I fixed Chicken Alfredo Sauce and Noodles for dinner tonight. I got maybe three small bits of noodle down but couldn’t feel my tongue or the inside of my mouth, so gave up on it. I won’t starve to death by skipping one meal. But I did go in and immediately brush my teeth and floss. Weird experience to brush when you can’t feel your teeth or the inside of your mouth…

I spoke with my father-in-law earlier — he turns 98 in a couple of weeks and says he doesn’t want a birthday party until he turns 100–THEN he expects a BIG party! And he’ll get one, that’s for sure. I’m glad he’s planning on being here for it. Let’s pray he makes it!

Be safe, be well (be sure to brush and floss!) and please be happy. We are blessed in ways we’re not always aware of.

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

