Thoughts of my sisters

At one point in my life I had four sisters — two full sisters and two half-sisters. The two half-sisters were older than my next eldest sister. The eldest half-sister and the younger full sister are all that I have left. The elder half-sister has advanced Parkinson’s and I call her about once a month, to check in on her and her husband, who has end stage kidney failure. The younger sister is online a lot of the time, so I’m in contact with her at least once a week. Today, she’s undergoing spinal fusion in the cervical part of her spine. It’s now after 1:00 p.m. and I haven’t heard whether she’s out of surgery or not. I don’t think she or my brother-in-law have cell phones anymore, so I’m just going to have to wait until the phone call to let me know how she is. She’ll have a recovery period where she won’t be able to drive, do housework, or do much of anything… her husband has advanced emphysema and is on oxygen 24/7 so he can’t help much at all in the house. They have a handyman who will take care of the outdoor animals and property (they have 8 acres of land and every kind of animal you could imagine on a farm). I want to go back to help, but sadly, I don’t know how much help I could be. 

Hubby talked to his father yesterday and when he’d hung up, he came in and told me that his dad couldn’t walk anywhere without a walker, and was having to use oxygen if he did much walking around. We already knew he was on oxygen at night, but thought he had improved to where he didn’t need it during the day. Hubby said his dad and step-mom had been ‘discussing’ going back to Arizona. If they do return to Arizona, it’ll be for the last time. Dad W. will turn 98 this Thursday, the 19th of June. He’s lived a long life, and a good life for the most part. He’s had a lot of serious health issues over the years but somehow, he’s always overcome them and persevered. With each hospitalization or health crisis, he’s lost a bit of his stamina, but never his determination to live out his life without going into a nursing home. I pray that he never does reach that point.

It’s a beautiful day today, and I think I’ll go out on the deck with my Kindle and spend some time watching the traffic and the wildlife. Maybe a train or two will pass by, but this is Monday, and for the railroad, that’s a maintenance day–not much train traffic when the guys are working on the rails.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Our lives are lived one moment at a time–enjoy your moments. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them…

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thoughts of my sisters

  1. mageb says:

    Posting this on Facebook was a greaat idea. You will attract more readers. Yes, all you can do for your sisters is send them your love. Perhaps they should have downsized earlier. I downsized, but here I am in a three story condo. LOL Hugs….now go read a few of my blogs listed on the left. Leave them notes and you will get notes back. Tell them I sent you. 🙂

    Like

  2. Mary Pladsen says:

    Hi = this is woman in the moon. I don’t know if I can leave you a note or not so I won’t say too much until I get it figured out.
    What state are you in?

    Like

Leave a Reply

