The Ozone of the Internet

I had a fairly lengthy post saved as a draft (or so I thought), but later on, I couldn’t find it — anywhere. One would think that the limits of Internet Vapor (wherein lies all of our declared hopes, dreams and nightmares) would be finite, that eventually, it would fill up and begin regurgitating our work back at us, one piece at a time, with the query, “Did you mean to lose this??” <sigh>

Two days later, my draft hasn’t shown up and the heat here in Tehachapi has only mildly abated. We deal with the heat in a new way — shut off the a/c upstairs, and move to the downstairs where the temperature rarely gets above 77 degrees. The other day I went back upstairs mid-afternoon just to see how warm it was. We’d left the doors and windows open, and the a/c shut off. The a/c thermometer read a toasty 91 degrees. I didn’t go out onto the deck to check the thermometers out there. I knew they’d tell me what I already knew–it’s hot today. Nothing was stirring… not a leaf on a tree, which for our area, is most unusual. We always have a good breeze blowing up through the valley. But not that day.

I wrote a note of complaint to the powers that be at WordPress when I discovered that they’d rolled out a major change in the way their system works and the change wasn’t announced beforehand. Things like that are, to me, inordinately rude. It makes users crazy, trying to figure out what they did to lose all of the things they’d depended on to develop a blog post. Ah me… such is life on the internet. I’d like to think that one day I’ll run across that drafted post. It was even scheduled to be published but somehow, it never arrived.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. And remember that NOTHING ever stays the same in life. Be ready for the unexpected, and try to accept it with grace.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

