Remembering Repurposing at an Earlier Age

Pulling the stitches out of that discarded garment so I could re-use (repurpose) the fabric brought memories to mind of my paternal grandmother who would take feed sacks and turn them into dresses for her three grandchildren. It reminded me of the time when I received fabric attached to sacks of flour and pancake mix produced at the flour mill where my father-in-law worked. I used that fabric to make curtains for our first unfurnished apartment. And I remember purchasing Dreft laundry soap in a box that contained free wash cloths and/or dishes.

I know there’s Scotch, Irish and English ancestry in my blood. I owe my love of cooking and being frugal to my paternal grandmother and my husband’s mother. I would watch my mother-in-law re-use the bottoms of bread sacks for sandwich carriers long before Ziploc bags arrived on the scene. She saved every scrap of foil too — used it until you couldn’t use it anymore and then it went into the metal recycle bin. I watched and I learned…and I use some of her frugal ways now that we’re retired and are more mindful of our pennies.

This country could use a bit more repurposing; perhaps we could even put more people to work again. It could happen…as long as there is a need for food, clothing or shelter, there will be a need for people to grow, make and build.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Remembering Repurposing at an Earlier Age

  1. mageb says:

    You know I repurpose as much as I can everywhere. Life is pretty darned good here. Today I repurposed books. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

