Another Summer Day

I had thought we were through with the warm days of summer but today proved otherwise. Still, I managed to work through it and got some cutting done for a table runner that my quilting friend and I will be working on together. It’ll have a Christmas theme, complete with Poinsettia flowers made from Christmas fabrics. I’m looking forward to making it and sharing it with friends when we go to Arizona later in the year. 

Meanwhile, DH is off doing his daily exercise walk and I have dinner ready to hit the grill on his return. Our youngest barbecued chicken legs a while back and it got me wanting to do the same thing here. I peeled a few potatoes, cut them up and put them together with red and green bell peppers and some onion rings. I tossed them in a bowl with garlic salt, Old Bay Seasoning, black pepper and basil. I put dabs of margarine on top and closed the foil up around the whole shebang.

IMG_2054

All sealed up and ready to go onto the barbecue.

 

IMG_2055

The recipes I saw on line for barbecued drumsticks called for marinating the chicken for 4-5 hours. Well, I want to eat tonight, so I ran a bowl full of water, put in a couple of glugs of apple cider vinegar, a sprinkle or two of salt and a two heaping tablespoons of Splenda (instead of the 1/2 cup of sugar called for in most of the marinades), and put the chicken drumsticks in to soak. I figured they’d be in the ‘brine’ for at least 45 min. to an hour so maybe that’ll be enough. We shall see…

IMG_2056

 

It’s 6:57 p.m. and the potatoes are on and cooking. I’ll take the chicken out of the brine just as we turn the potatoes, and rinse it off really good to remove as much of the brine as possible. Next, the grill gets sprayed with some PAM and on the grill go the chicken legs. Cooked for 5-7 min. per side, they should be done and able to be finished on the upper rack in 30 min. or less. When we move them to the upper rack, we’ll paint on the barbecue sauce, putting the sauce side down on the upper rack. Then after another 7 min. there, we apply barbecue sauce to the top and turn them over. Meanwhile, the potatoes should be nice and crispy.

Not much left to do other than enjoy…

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them!!!

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another Summer Day

  1. mageb says:

    Happy and tired but glad to have had the adventure. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

