A very good day

Robert and I attended a birthday party today. It was Linda Gordon’s birthday and she invited us to join her and her family for a birthday celebration. We got to meet Linda and Ed’s children and grandchildren. Her granddaughter had attended the whole week of Comic-Con in San Diego, so she shared photos of her and her mom all dressed up for the show. Linda’s daughter showed me a photo of her and her daughter in full costume. I asked her who she was supposed to be and she said she was Spock’s mother in one of the earlier shows. I gave her a two thumbs up for the costume and for it being related to one of my all-time favorite shows. Star Trek is a fantastic show. I can’t remember what her daughter said she was, but it was definitely one of the ‘stop, pause and check it out’ costumes!  

I made Linda a Hot/Cold Lavender scented rice pack and a pyramid birthday card. I didn’t take a picture of the hot/cold pack — wasn’t thinking — but here’s a picture of her card:

Linda G BD

Later on in the afternoon, Robert walked into the office to see what I was doing and suddenly he whispered “Deer!” I slowly raised up out of my chair and just as I grabbed my camera to photograph the same doe we’d been seeing in the back yard, across from the left side of the yard came her little fawn — it had almost lost its spots, but you can still see them a bit. These photos aren’t really good because I had to take them through the window of the office, but they’re cool, nonetheless. We’re going to have to get a larger water bowl out there — they drink it dry almost every day. 

IMG_2072

The water bowl is just a large 18″ Terra Cotta planter saucer, but it’s a couple of inches deep and gets cleaned and refilled to the brim each and every morning.

 

IMG_2073 IMG_2076 

There was a Morning Dove walking around and the fawn kept following it, trying to catch it to sniff at it (I hope),but the dove never would stay still. LOL Fun to watch.

I made a mistake the other day and allowed a certain printer manufacturer to update their software on my computer. And, naturally, Windows had to do their update. Consequently, my favorite program that I use for all of my flyers and a lot of my cards will no longer run. I uninstalled it and re-installed it and there were still problems so I did a restore back to the end of last month. Still no good, so I’ll have to put it in the shop. <sigh> It won’t get done this month–so I’ll save it for next month. I also want to put my sewing machine in the shop. <sigh> it truly is always something, but life is good.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. We had a beautiful day today. 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A very good day

  1. mageb says:

    I hate windows updates. The programs we use rarely run after an update. You sound well and doing great….and life is certainly good today.

    Like

  2. tehachap says:

    Oh yes… the Lyrica makes a world of difference. And you’re right about programs not running after updates. I’m sitting here looking at a Java update and I absolutely refuse to update anything ever again. If it works, don’t fix it! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

