Transition

Strange to feel like my life is moving faster than I would like it to–like I’m on one of those moving sidewalks, going at a faster pace than I like but unable to control the speed.

The youngest kid, his sons and my niece were up this weekend. We really had a great time. We played Stock Market, went to the movies and saw Minions; visited the local yogurt shop and pigged out there, had pizza and bbq’d hamburgers. Naturally, I had all the makings at hand for the ritual Monkey Bread–made every Saturday night to be baked Sunday morning before they leave to return home. And the little guy requested we make a travel pillow for use in the car/truck–he said that his regular Broncos pillow was always scrunched down in the seat where he couldn’t get to it. So we made a Broncos travel pillow — and we still have a bit of Broncos fabric left for the next time he comes up.

At one point when I was sewing his pillow covering, he said he liked to make things with me. I smiled and said I liked to make things with him too. After they’d gone, my husband thanked me for being such a great grandmother to the kids. He said he’d watched the boys in my art room, looking at all of my bins of fabric (they’re clear so you can see what’s inside). He listened to them commenting on what they were seeing. The little guy has taken a real liking to sewing. He’s not tall enough to reach the pedal of the sewing machine, but one day he will be and I’ll have to teach him how to use the machine. Then I think I might be in trouble as he begins to compete for the fabrics in my cupboard. I’d given his mom a used sewing machine some time ago. I don’t know if she still has it or not — perhaps I’ll ask her if he can learn to sew on it. I told him a lot of men liked to sew and were quite good at it. I added that we had a man in our quilt guild who was a very good quilter.

I dreamed of my father-in-law and previous step-mother-in-law last night — they were in AZ and their place was very small and cramped, not the nice larger home we bought together. Robert and I were there and we were trying to get the place cleaned up and ready for them to take up residence for the winter. Today, my emotions are very fragile–I’ve had a number of people pass away in these past couple of months and it makes me feel like the end of my life is approaching faster than I would like.

This is the first strictly personal diary entry I’ve written since I don’t remember when. I’ve given up the Quilt Guild’s Facebook page and their WordPress blog, so now I only have my own blog to maintain, which is more than enough.

Better get off this computer and get something accomplished for the day… be safe, be well, and please tell those you love that you love them.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

