NOMOJO DAY 15

We’re supposed to get rain and snow today. I’ll be very surprised if we do. The sun is shining and there isn’t a cloud in the sky. The snow from the last storm has all melted except for the very highest peaks of the mountains surrounding Tehachapi. You can drive up Tucker Rd. and see the hillsides covered with snow. Showing through the green of the pine trees, it is a lovely sight to behold. But I know how very cold it must be there for the snow to remain frozen.

Our hummingbirds are almost all gone. I think I saw only two hummers yesterday, far less than normal. Perhaps they sense that the winter is going to be a lot colder than usual and have flown south for warmer climes. We have two feeders hanging just outside my office window, but I think we truly only need one given the few birds we have now. Yesterday, I saw a female Oriole drinking out of the moat that sits at the top of the hummingbird feeder. Her coloring reminded me of a Rosy Finch, but she was almost twice the size of a Finch.

It’s a kind of kick-back day today; I was up at 6:30 a.m. and Robert’s still in bed, enjoying a sleep-in. The only task I have set for myself today is to finish ironing the fabric backing for the grandson’s quilt. I’ll need to clean the living room floor so I can tape the backing down. It’s the only place large enough to be used to lay out the quilt. Robert helps me get the fabric taped down to the floor, then layer on the batting and quilt top. Then I use safety pins to pin the 3 layers together. Once that’s done, I can pull the quilt up and get it ready to be quilted. I’m not sure how I want to quilt it, but it’ll be something interesting, to say the least.

Time to go find something to fix for breakfast and get my day going. Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. Make the most of each day…

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

