NOMOJO DAY 20

One of our Depot friends collects recipes, and yesterday she gave me several Taste of Home recipe magazines because she knows I love recipes and cookbooks. I have a nice collection of cookbooks and recipes. Many years ago, I gave away my cookbook and recipe collection, not realizing that I was trying to defeat a personal/ingrained habit. It didn’t take long at all before my collection began growing all over again. Since then, I’ve given up and just enjoy having the cookbooks to look at, wander through, and use from time to time.

Over the years I’ve taken numerous catering and cake decorating classes, and I’ve kept the handouts in a 3-ring binder. I even have photos of some of my custom cakes.

100_1595

I made this Easter Bunny cake for our eldest grandson when he was about 3 years old. It’s super easy to make and makes a great cake for kids (or adults!). I had to be vigilant about the jelly beans — they kept disappearing from the green coconut grass! The last professional level cake I made was my niece’s wedding cake. Sadly, I don’t have photos of it, but do remember it and a couple of other wedding cakes I made.  I’ve also been an ice cream cake decorator, though that job only lasted a few months. It’s been well over 10 years, but I still remember how to make ice cream cakes!

It’s been a nice, quiet day today — I’ve been doing the hand sewing of the binding on my wall hanging. I’m down to the last 6″ of binding and stopped to fix a bite to eat. I’ll attach the rod pocket to the back and sign my name on the binding along with the date, and call it done. Then I get to pin the grandson’s quilt–should only take me a couple of hours on my hands and knees! Then I can put my sewing machine on the dining room table, get my quilt clips out and begin quilting. I haven’t decided what I’ll use for the binding. It’ll come to me as I quilt. And I need to create a label for it as well. I have time. It’s all good.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. Life is full of challenges, especially as you get older.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NOMOJO DAY 20

  1. mageb says:

    What a fun day you had. I’ve been sorting monstrous numbers of donations. It’s been like this all week. Wednesday I got to play with books, but today I sorted first. It’s like everyone in town is cleaning out their closets. And bookshelves. 110 books to shelve wednesday. Oy! LOL

    Like

    • tehachap says:

      Yes, getting together with these special friends is always fun. We discussed the possibility that we would be here for New Year’s Chinese food, which would make their day! (and ours too!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

