NOMOJO: DAY 24

Hot, cold, hot, cold–my body can’t make up its mind. I woke in the middle of the night and after my bathroom visit, put on my polyester caftan and button up sweatshirt. I was cold. I had set the thermostat to 64 degrees last evening and then forgot to reset it when I went to bed. The house was bitterly cold, so when I finally wound down and was able to crawl back into bed, I remained in my clothing cocoon. Fast forward to this morning and the other half complained about me going to bed layered to the hilt while at other times I’m dressed in no more than a t-shirt nightgown. What can I say? It’s my hormones; it’s my Fibromyalgia (yes, FM messes with the body’s temperature regulator)–I don’t know what’s causing the hot flashes when I get them, I just know I’m hot (or cold). Ah me, it’s the least we can worry about these days.

Here’s an update on the grandson’s quilt:

IMG_3611a

The rows without safety pins have been sewn. I began by stitching all of the horizontal rows. Last night I finished the vertical rows and began doing the X’s in each of the center squares. A friend suggested I outline/stitch each helmet in the blue blocks. I know it would create a different look to the quilt, but I wasn’t comfortable with the irregular spacing of the stitching so returned to the initial decision to do an X in the center of each block. I just want to make sure the batting stays where it belongs so he doesn’t get large lumps in the quilt after repeated washings.

I received the second queen size quilt back from a quilting friend yesterday afternoon. She had done a bit of repair to the stitching. Now it’s my turn to trim the quilt, make the binding and get it bound, labeled and out the door to our friend Laura, for her granddaughter’s Christmas present. It was supposed to be a twin, but I didn’t reduce the size of the blocks, so it is what it is and it’s big enough for a queen size bed. <sigh> Lesson learned — don’t fall in love with a pattern to the point that you just run with it rather than looking at it and making sure everything about it is what you’re looking for. Lesson learned.

More than enough projects to work on today, notwithstanding the rag quilt that’s waiting in the wings for my friend who lost her husband to cancer this month. It’ll be a bereavement quilt for her — they live in Iowa, so I know the quilt will be used this winter.

It’s after 10 a.m. and I need to get my day going so will leave you with blessings and a request to be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. Enjoy your day!

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to NOMOJO: DAY 24

  1. mageb says:

    Thanks for doing all this for others. You are a dear.

    Like

  2. mageb says:

    It’s 25….Hope to see you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

