December 1st and it’s TIME!

This morning I’d like to introduce an unusual member of our family. We’ve had him for a long time, but the only time he’s allowed in public is during the Christmas Holidays. It all began back in the 1980’s when I worked for San Diego Gas & Electric as their Dusk to Dawn Coordinator. At lunchtime, some of we girls would go out of the building for lunch (the company had an employee cafeteria in the building, but we often wanted to shop during our lunch hour). One December day I went to the local Hallmark shop and purchased some Christmas cards. They had a free TY Reindeer program going and I wound up with “Rodney” the reindeer. Rodney became the office mascot that day and he took up residence on top of my file cabinet next to my desk.

One bright morning I came into work and Rodney was gone. In his place was the following ransom note:

Rodney Ransom Note

A succession of notes were passed back and forth–negotiating for the release of Rodney. The payment had to be in See’s candy. The amount required was way out of line–we finally settled for a 2 lb. box of Nuts & Chews. I delivered said candy to Rodney’s spot and delayed leaving for home that day until I couldn’t stay any longer. I wondered if the candy AND Rodney would be missing come morning. I had to trust… so I went home.

The next morning the candy was gone and in its place was a new note that said Rodney had been returned and put into one of my file cabinet drawers. At this point you have to visualize the wall of five-drawer file cabinets that were part of my job. All day I would open and close drawers, looking for Rodney and trying to do my job at the same time. At long last, I found him!

Over the subsequent years, Rodney got lost and I thought no more about him. It was just a fun memory. Fast forward to our move to Tehachapi and the first Christmas holiday spent here. A package arrives from my sister. It was a new Rodney — along with some of his relatives!!

Rodney and Family

Seems Rodney had acquired a girlfriend, and they had been busy! Also enclosed were several gift certificates for See’s candy (my all-time favorite candies!). Thus began the saga of Rodney the Reindeer and his family spending the Christmas holidays with us.

Yesterday, we picked up the mail and there was a small box. I didn’t know the sender, but it was addressed to me. At home, I opened the box and voila! Rodney and spouse have acquired a new member for their family!

IMG_3617

I’d like to introduce the newest member of the family — Roxie! I’ll be pulling out the rest of the family from storage some time today (or tomorrow). It’s quite a group when you get them all together.

Be safe, be well, and be happy! Put a little fun into your life–and be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to December 1st and it’s TIME!

  1. mageb says:

    Loved all your catchup entries, and was delighted by the story of your lost Rodney. What fun it was to see you… note, you are number one on my list. I so hope you will post more often in this coming year….and don’t forget, there will be a book in the mail.

    Like

    • tehachap says:

      I hope to be more active here too… Glad you enjoyed Rodney — Rodney and family have grandparents that I need to bring out of storage — Grandma is in a rocking chair and she sings! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

