NOMOJO: DAY 28

The Saturday AFTER Thanksgiving — Robert and I met up with long-time writer/artist friend Mage and her wonderful husband George at Perry’s Cafe for breakfast. Lots of good food and conversation. I brought Mage fabric for a quilt she’s creating–it should be gorgeous when it’s finished. It’ll be more of a scenic style quilt, rather than a pieced quilt, something I have yet to attempt. Once I learned what her design goal was, another piece of fabric in my stash came to mind and I have it ready to mail to her.

After breakfast, Robert and I returned to the kid’s house and we carpooled out to the Painted Gorge desert area off Interstate 8. My great-nephew owns 10 acres of land there. He has his travel trailer stored there, and he’s allowed his friends to store their trailers and motorhomes there on the property. They held a ‘house’ warming the other weekend, with lots of food and beverages along with music and a nice bonfire or two.

That night, the women gave the men another go at Hand & Foot cards; the men won this time, but just barely!

We didn’t make plans for the next day, deciding to just play it by ear. We always eat breakfast out the morning of the day we leave for home (or Arizona, as the case may be), and usually, it’s at the Omelet Factory on Mission Gorge Rd. in Santee. We woke  up around 8 a.m., and arrived at the kid’s around 9:30 a.m. Our son was just getting out of the shower and his wife was vacuuming the living room. She keeps a very clean house so I wasn’t that surprised to see her up, dressed and cleaning the house. The younger grandson was on the couch, playing an XBox 360 game. I was surprised at the realistic scenes and sound that was being shown. I commented to our son that it looked very real, just like a war zone in the Middle East. He was sitting by me on the couch by this time, and just looked up from his phone to chuckle and agree with me. I found it a bit disturbing to watch so got up and went outside to check out their vegetable garden while waiting for everyone to get ready to leave for the trip out to the desert.

I realize the older I get, the less I tolerance I have for guns and violence. The mass killings that are occurring all over the world these days are mindless violence and completely void of any feelings or thoughts for the people being harmed. I wonder if the shooters just want to hurt others as they are hurting, or if they feel that taking the lives of others will bring attention to their plight/cause. It’ll bring attention, without a doubt, but it will also no doubt bring about their own death, something which I’m thinking is their primary goal when they take up a gun to kill others.

Gun ownership today is far removed from what our forefathers believed to be a citizen’s right to bear arms. I like to think our forefathers would have worded the law a bit differently had they any idea that guns would become what they are today — an automated killing machine. I’m not sure what the answer is, but there has to be something done to stop the mindless killing taking place in the world today.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

