NOMOJO: DAY 30

IMG_3272aMy physical therapy is finished. I went for my follow-up appointment with the Orthopedic Surgeon today and he was very impressed with my progress in rehabilitation. I have one movement that I’m still having difficulty with but apparently, it’s the same for everyone with a shoulder injury or surgery. The dr. said I was further along than I would have been had he operated on me, which made both of us very happy. He asked me to come back for a follow-up appointment in two months. I told him we may be at our home in Arizona by then, and would it be o.k. to return for a follow-up when we returned to our home here in Tehachapi around the end of March of 2016. He said that would be fine. One hurdle down and one to go.

While we were in Lancaster, Robert took me to JoAnn’s fabric store and I purchased material for the binding of the second Princess quilt that I’m making for friend Laura’s granddaughters. The first quilt and matching pillowcase have been delivered and I’ve been waiting for the second quilt to be quilted by a friend here in Tehachapi. Tonight, I washed and dried the new binding fabric and will cut it into 2 1/2″ strips. The quilt should have been a twin size, but I didn’t notice that the squares were actually sized for a queen size quilt and by the time I realized my error, the quilt was already finished and ready to be quilted. So, the girls will receive a quilt that will be large enough for them until they reach adulthood. I hope they enjoy them. Our grandson dearly loved his new quilt and matching pillowcases.

The other hurdle that’s facing us before we can move to Arizona for the Winter, is Robert’s health, which has been a bit troublesome lately. Tomorrow afternoon Robert will be seen by a neurologist in Bakersfield. He’s been having TIA’s (Transient Ischemic Attacks), or mini-strokes. His primary doctor has put him on a blood pressure medication and added a baby aspirin per day as a blood thinner. Once we determine what’s going on, and get it fixed, we’ll be clear to head for Arizona. I doubt we’ll be able to make it there before mid-January of next year, but we shall see. Robert hasn’t wanted to say anything to anyone — he’s not used to being sick at all. Having health problems is a whole new experience for him, one that he’s not comfortable with. We’re going to play it by ear and just take each day as it comes. We’ll know more after seeing the neurologist and finding out what tests he wants to run and when they can be done. Keeping our fingers crossed…

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them — seeing Robert in the throes of a TIA was extremely scary for me (and him), and after things settled down, I got to thinking that if he were to suddenly die, I would have the contentment that comes from knowing that I’ve told him over and over how much I love him. We tell one another “I love you” and one or the other of us will often respond, “I love you more,” or just mouth the word, “More.” I don’t know where the words came from, but we obviously say them around others because for Christmas last year my niece gave us a set of pillow cases that said in huge letters, “I love you.” and “I love you MORE.” lol

When I was saying goodbye to my sister yesterday morning, I told her I loved her and I would see her on the other side. I said the same thing to my next eldest sister as she lay dieing. It’s vital that we tell the people we love that their presence in our lives is important to us, and that we love them, unconditionally. Should something happen to either of us, we’ll know that our message of mutual love has been shared.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. If each of us took the opportunity to improve someone else’s life by a kind word or gesture, the world would be a much happier place.

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to NOMOJO: DAY 30

  1. mageb says:

    Yes, yes, and yes. G is heading north, and I told him he was loved as he headed to the car.
    Love you too. Don’t forget. I did get you a copy of that book I recommended. 🙂

    Like

  2. poolagirl says:

    Letting your love be known is the greatest gift.

    Like

Leave a Reply

