A Good Day

 

IMG_3621

The Tehachapi Depot Railroad Museum is holding their annual photo with Santa event today, and for the next two Saturdays. Each Saturday will also feature a bake sale as a fundraiser. I coordinated the very first bake sale several years ago, but haven’t baked or volunteered for the event for the past two years because we haven’t been here. This winter, we’re here so I volunteered to bake some cookies for the sale. I made one of the favorite cookies that has always sold out in the past — Peanut Butter Chews. I’ve made these for 20 years or more. I used to buy this cookie at the school cafeteria when I was in high school. When I graduated, I thought I’d never see that cookie again — they sold out really quick whenever the cafeteria staff made them (which wasn’t as frequently as we kids thought they should be making them). But years later, I happened to see a request for the recipe for this cookie in the San Diego Union-Tribune newspaper. Thus, I was able to recapture a moment in time and the recipe for one of my all time favorite cookies. Just so I never lose a copy of this jewel, I’m sharing it here. Enjoy!

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

PEANUT BUTTER CHEWS

Jane Boehrer, Food Services Director for San Diego City Schools was happy to share this recipe, which she says is very popular with kids of all ages. This recipe makes 32 bars.

1 cup plus 2 tablespoons plus 2 teaspoons margarine, butter or shortening
2 cups granulated sugar
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup peanut butter 4 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup rolled oats
GLAZE:
3 tablespoons powdered sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons peanut butter
4 1/2 teaspoons very hot water
Combine butter, sugars, peanut butter, eggs and vanilla in a mixing bowl. Mix, creaming well. Sift together flour, baking powder and salt. Add rolled oats and mix well. Add dry ingredients to creamed mixture. Mix until well blended. Spread batter into a greased 12-by-18-inch cookie pan with sides. Bake at 350 degrees for 25 to 30 minutes. Do not over bake.

For the glaze: Combine powdered sugar and peanut butter. Gradually add hot water. Spread glaze on warm Peanut Butter Chews. Cut while warm. Cookies will be of a chewy consistency.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Good Day

  1. mageb says:

    Oh, those look perfect. No oats for me tho.
    How nice to see you this morning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

