Let there be lights!!

IMG_3625Christmas lights, that is… We used C7 LED lights the last time we were home here in Tehachapi at Christmas. You couldn’t see them from the highway, so we resolved to buy bigger lights for the next Christmas. Well, the NEXT Christmas was spent in Arizona, and the Christmas after that, so this year, although we anticipated spending Christmas in Arizona, health matters take precedence so here we are. Today we purchased two 70 light strings of holiday lights to string along the deck railing. If we can’t see THESE babies from the highway, I told a friend, we’ll buy an aluminum tree and put one of those rotating light wheels on it!

The first time I watched and listened to the “Wizards of Winter” I couldn’t get enough of it. The music just grabbed me and for days afterward I would repeat certain stanzas in my head, or find myself humming the notes. There are several other light shows on the Internet now, but the original one is still my favorite. The lights we bought have various programs that they run, making the lights turn on and off in set patterns.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IK90Ys2LhSo

The other activities of the day were to have the electrician come and fix several light fixtures in the house–two in my office, one in the entry and one –the most important one, naturally, over my cooktop. He suggested we replace six of the lights in the kitchen with newer LED lights instead of the high-intensity lights that were installed when the house was built. The lights cost just under $50 each, so we’re talking at least $300, not including the electrician’s fee for installation. He says they’re guaranteed to last 22 years, burning 6 hrs. per day — way longer than we think we’ll be needing them, and they’re supposed to save energy. Hmm… I think I might give SCE a call to see if retrofitting lights qualifies as energy saving improvements and perhaps get a discount on my bill or perhaps help in paying for the new lights. Can’t hurt — might help!

And speaking of energy, the battery on my car went out overnight. A trip to AutoZone was in store for us after the electrician left. We seem to have done nothing of interest but spend money today. I’m very grateful that we had the money necessary to take care of things. Thank you dad!

Be safe, be well, and please be happy! Tell those you love that you love them and appreciate what you have in life. Many others are not as fortunate as you. Robert read a Letter to the Editor from a child who said she wished for a warm, fuzzy blanket for Christmas. I wish I knew who she was — I’d either offer to make her a quilt, or buy her a nice fuzzy blanket. Robert noted that it was nice to see someone asking for something practical instead of a toy.

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let there be lights!!

  1. mageb says:

    Just lovely. One string of G’s won’t work, and it’s struggle time here. LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

