What to get the grandkids for Christmas

Last Christmas I created Dollar Bill Christmas Trees for the grandkids. I purchased the materials to make them again this year but for whatever reason, just couldn’t get the bills to cover the foam tree as they did before. Back to the drawing board, I went to the Internet and found a Dollar Bill Wreath. It looked really cool, so this will be my Christmas gift to the grandsons for this year. It takes a few less dollars, so I’ll find them something else to go with the wreath. That shouldn’t be too hard…

IMG_2575IMG_3626

Next year will be another challenge, but thankfully, I don’t have to worry about it just yet!

I’ve started another quilt — this one is a flannel rag quilt that was part of Mary Clark’s stash. Mary was a quilter here in Tehachapi, well known by members of the Lutheran Church where she served as a volunteer for many years. She made quilts and other items and sold them at a consignment shop here in town. She did beautiful work and when she passed away earlier this year, she left a gorgeous stash of fabrics and quilt projects. This quilt will become a bereavement quilt for a friend. I don’t have enough of it together to show right now, but when I get to the point where there’s something worth sharing, I’ll photograph it and share it here.

Meanwhile, today is Hump Day — have a great day and be safe, be well, and please be happy! Know that you are loved and your presence in this life is important. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. Peace and blessings to you today…

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What to get the grandkids for Christmas

  1. mageb says:

    We are so blessed all around. 🙂

    Scraps for a quilt came through the store today. Marvelous batik fabrics cut by someone who had never quilted. If it is still there tomorrow, I will buy it for the backing to my newest piece. At least with half inch seams, it won’t come apart. LOL

    Like

  2. tehachap says:

    Did you see my update?? My Secret Santa box arrived today — whoo hoo!! I have PRESENTS!

    Like

Leave a Reply

