Books! I have books!!

My writing friend, Mage B. shipped me a box of Dick Francis’ books. Whoo hoo! It’s not like I don’t have several books sitting on the coffee table, waiting to be read, or more than 900 books and short stories on my Kindle  (I added another 6 books just this morning!). But I love Dick Francis’ work. I don’t have much knowledge of horses or horse racing, so it’s always a fascinating read for me and I learn a lot from his stories.

My favorite genre’s are anything other than horror, non-fiction or hard-core Sci-fi. I can’t get into Star Wars (other than watching the movie), and most fantasy takes a real effort to read. But paranormal?? Oh yeah. Murder mystery with a touch of romance? Yep. I’m up for it. I’ve even read a few authors who offer recipes in their story line. How cool is that, I ask you, considering that I love to bake and I love to collect recipes.

Speaking of baking, today I’m baking cookies for tomorrow’s bake sale at the Tehachapi Railroad Museum. I made Peanut Butter Chews last Friday, and today’s special is what I’m calling “Kitchen Sink Cookies” because they have everything but the kitchen sink in them–semi-sweet chocolate chips, white chips, Butterscotch chips, and flaked coconut. I’m using a scoop of dough rather than a tablespoon, so they turn out really large and delicious. Here’s the recipe — straight from the back of the Ghirardelli Classic White Chips. The recipe makes 5 doz. cookies, but I doubled the recipe because I wanted some leftovers.

IMG_3653 IMG_3654

GHIRARDELLI MACADAMIA WHITE CHIP COOKIES

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened (I used Blue Bonnet margarine)
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1 cup brown sugar
2 eggs, room temperature
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
3  cups unsifted flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt (I omitted this)
2 cups (one 11 oz. bag) Ghirardelli Classic White Chips (I used 1 cup)
1 1/2 cups Macadamia nuts, chopped

Preheat oven to 350 deg. F. Cream butter and sugars until fluffy. Add vanilla and eggs, one at a time, and beat well. Blend in flour, baking soda and salt. Stir in white chips and nuts. Drop by teaspoon onto ungreased cookie sheets.Bake for 10-12 minutes.

I added 6 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips, 6 oz. Butterscotch chips and 6 oz. flaked coconut to the batter. These cookies turned out to be some of the best cookies ever. Probably far too sweet for some, but one cookie will satisfy the thirstiest sweet tooth!

Tomorrow is also Day 1 of the 12 Days of Christmas Secret Santa swap. Kelly Hauser is moderator of several quilter’s websites. Last year she developed a quilter’s swap called “The 12 Days of Christmas.” She put together a questionnaire for anyone willing to play. A spending limit was set at $30 for the 12 days of gifts and the 12th day had to be something made by the giver. I participated last Christmas and again this Christmas. A quilting friend here in town also joined in this year. I’m sure she’s as excited as I am at being able to begin opening our gifts.

Be safe, be well and please be happy! Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Books! I have books!!

  1. mageb says:

    So glad they all arrived safely. Forget all the other books, read “to the Hilt” first. LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

