For Memory’s Sake NAJOWRIMO DAY 2 JANUARY 2, 2016

Some years ago I ran across a website that had a calculator for making quilt blocks. You keyed in the quilt size and the size of blocks you wanted and it would tell you how many blocks you needed to make, and how much fabric was required. I thought I’d bookmarked it, but I have over 1,000 (light weight guessing) bookmarks and I never could find it. Hence, this journal entry as I’ve come across another site similar to the first one and I don’t want to lose it. I’ve bookmarked it in two different folders, hoping that I’ll hit one of them right off the bat the next time I’m searching for the site. Better yet, put the site in a journal entry and then you’ll KNOW you have it! So here it is … if you’re a quilter, you’ll appreciate this  link. <click on the word THIS to go directly to the site>

http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2009/12/how-to-calculate-quilt-measurements.html

It’s actually a blog, and it’s excellent. The author, Amanda Jean Nyberg, co-authored a book called “Sunday Morning Quilts: 16 Modern Scrap Projects – Sort, Store, and Use Every Last Bit of Your Treasured Fabrics”. I might have to invest in it one day. I really hate to waste fabric. 

My current project is to create a quilt from the 12 images you see here (two (2) 5.5″ images per design for a total of 12 pieces. I went through my white fabric stash and found 16 6″ blocks of white fabric already pre-cut and ready to use (hooray!) so that makes 28 blocks. Mage suggested a nine-patch quilt pattern. Excellent idea!! So off I went, scrounging through websites, looking at nine-patch designs. None matched what I had in mind (naturally), so I decided I needed to do some in-depth math and figure out exactly how I could use those 12 images. Hence, my discovery of the quilt calculator post. Ah hah!!

Mystery quilt or

I’m now at the point where I decide how to lay out the blocks — where will I put the images and where will I insert the nine-patch blocks? How am I going to pull them all together so they look like they belong together? Break out the graph paper… I never thought I’d ever use graph paper again once I graduated from high school. Print your own graph paper is another neat site I discovered. You can create custom graph paper and save the file to your computer or iPad so you can print it out again and again–for free!

Hope your first day of the year is going well. Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

