Sunday Morning Muse NAJOWRIMO DAY 3 JANUARY 3, 2016

Today is the 3rd of the month and the day that the Golden Goose of Social Security lays its monthly egg. Last night, I faced over two months of haphazard bookkeeping due to my broken shoulder. After a couple of hours, I had managed to bring one checkbook up to date and take care of the projected bills for January. I was up later than I would have liked while working on the bills, and went to bed a bit after 2 a.m., hoping I would go immediately into a restful sleep. I  did go to sleep fairly quick, but was woken by pain around 5:30 a.m. I felt as though I’d just got to bed. For some reason, when I lay down or sit in one position for any length of time, my muscles eventually tighten up and pain soon follows. Sometimes changing my position eases the pain, and if I’m sleeping, I can nod off again.  If not, then there was always the ever-present acetaminophen sitting on the kitchen shelf. Repositioning myself in bed didn’t help, so I decided that there was nothing for it but to get up and get moving. I gently eased out of bed, picked up my glasses from the headboard and reached down for my slippers. It was going to be a long day, but perhaps a nap could be worked in.

There are times in life when we come across situations that are distinct enough that they can actually be interpreted as a message — I like to think they come from the other side of the veil. My computer desk area is usually covered in various pieces of paper–notes, phone messages, etc. This morning, it was fairly clear and as I moved my coaster closer to my computer in anticipation of my first cup of coffee, I uncovered a small laminated card. I didn’t remember handling it in the most recent past and idly wondered how it got there. Then I looked at it and began reading it. The first thought/image that came to my mind was that of my sister Sudie, who passed away in 2001. I don’t know how that card came to be laying on my desk, or even why I happened to see it this morning. I do know that the feeling of comfort that I felt from the message was that my sister is still with me. I can’t see her or touch her, but I can feel her presence and however that card came to be there for me to pick up this morning, I’ll accept that she wanted me to know she was here with me. For now, that’s enough.

Death Is

Death is nothing at all. I have only slipped away into the next room. I am I, and you are you. Whatever we were to each other, that we still are. Call me by my old familiar name, speak to me in the easy way which you always used. Put no difference in your tone, wear no forced air of solemnity or sorrow. Laugh as we always laughed at the little jokes we enjoyed together. Pray, smile, think of me, pray for me. Let my name be ever the household word that it always was, let it be spoken without effect, without the trace of a shadow on it. Life means all that it ever meant. It is the same as it ever was; there is un-broken continuity. Why should I be out of mind because I am out of sight? I am waiting for you, for an interval, somewhere very near, just round the corner. All is well.
— Henry Scott Holland
1847-1918
Canon of St. Paul’s Cathedral

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. There are more things unknown about this life we are living than are known. Always trust your instincts and listen to that small voice inside your mind…

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sunday Morning Muse NAJOWRIMO DAY 3 JANUARY 3, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    I like that a lot.
    Please take a few seconds to let me know how himself is. I’ll let you know when I know about G too.

    Like

    • tehachap says:

      Just so you know, although I mention the ever-present acetaminophen, just getting up and moving usually eases the pain and unless it’s really severe pain and doesn’t ease after moving around for a while, I will take 2 500mg. tablets. Never take more than 4 in a 24 hour period, though. And I hate taking prescription pain meds because they constipate me and throw my digestive tract off and that’s something I can surely live without!!!

      Like

  2. tehachap says:

    Himself is doing o.k. — still having trouble getting his blood sugar and blood pressure numbers to be consistent. He had a 10 carb popsicle last evening (before 9 p.m.) and this morning his blood sugar was 143–no correlation to what he’s eating, so something is not right. And his blood pressure was actually good last night — 137/70. Cannot figure it out, but now we know how our other diabetic friend feels. She’s tried to get her blood sugar under control for years without much success. She’s thin as a rail too… and has high blood pressure. I’m thinking the two are connected in some way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

