NAJOWRIMO DAY 10 — January 10, 2016

I didn’t even realize it was raining until I glanced out the window and saw the huge rainbowIMG_3745 spanning the valley. I walked out onto the deck to capture this photo and that’s when I realized it was sprinkling. It wasn’t raining hard enough to really get me wet, but enough to moisten the deck and railings.

It’s hard getting used to the cold. I feel the temperatures much more strongly these days and cold is definitely not a good feeling.

Orange TreeOur next door neighbor in Roadhaven sent us an e-mail with a photo of our orange tree. It has one lonely orange on it. I had told her before that when it ripened, she could pick it, but I would appreciate a photo before she did. so here it is… our first orange and we’re not there to enjoy it. Dad Westover planted what he thought was an orange tree on the back of our property. Come to find out, it was a grapefruit tree. We don’t particularly care for grapefruit but apparently, it was an excellent tree and we had people from all over the park coming to ask for grapefruit. He told one neighbor that they could go over and pick a couple if they wanted. He happened to come over and caught them actually stripping the tree of every piece of fruit on it. He told them to stop and said he’d never said they could take ALL of the fruit, just a few. They were embarrassed and apologized, saying that they figured since it was the end of the season, he wouldn’t be needing any more of the fruit. Wrong… he told us he wouldn’t be giving that neighbor any grapefruit in the future. They’d had their share and then some.

We don’t know who’s been watering the tree this summer (and now winter) because our regular caregiver passed away last Fall. Roadhaven is a 55+ park, meaning you have to be 55 years old in order to live there (even renters must be 55+). We all hope to have quite a few good years left in us when we buy our places, and I’m saddened when people from the park pass. For whatever reason, we had an inordinately large amount of people pass away this past year. I imagine that a certain segment of the population reached an age where their health failed completely.

The sun is out now, drying up the streets and the ground down below.  Nice…but it would be so much better if the temperature were to rise about 20 degrees! We’re sitting at just below 40 degrees, and I am just sooo cold. Even with the furnace running, I’m cold. Ah well, this too shall pass, and then I’ll be complaining about the heat!

Enjoy your day today — it’s another quiet day for me, which is nice. Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. If you go out, look for ways you can pay it forward. I was standing in line to pick up a prescription the other day and there was an elderly gentleman wearing a WWII baseball cap in line in front of me. When it came his turn to pay, I stepped up and said, “Please allow me to pay. I have a $5 gift card and I want to pay for your prescription. You served in the war to guarantee my freedom and for that I thank you.” My husband stepped up and shook his hand. The gentleman had already pulled a $5 bill from his wallet and when the clerk took the gift card, he appeared to be confused. She told him to keep his money, that his prescription was all paid for. The clerk told me there was change left on the card and I said, “Give it to him (meaning the gentleman whose prescription I had paid for).” She smiled and gently handed him the gift card, telling him that I had paid for his prescription. She pushed his $5 bill back across the counter to him and he seemed like he didn’t quite understand what had transpired. But finally, he smiled and said, “Thank you!” and put his money and the gift card back in his wallet. I’m sure he’ll have a nice story to tell his wife when he gets home. Moments like that are priceless in life.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

