NAJOWRIMO DAY 13: JANUARY 13, 2016

Mystery quilt orI missed a day — don’t know how that happened, but it did. I could write yesterday’s date on today’s entry, but I won’t. It’s really not that important to me. I went to bed last night wondering if I’d made an entry, but was too tired to get up and check. Ah well…

Hard to believe we’re approaching the middle of the first month of the year.

I had to take apart the Panda quilt rows that I’d sewn. My blocks were all off by a fraction of an inch, and when I went to join two rows, I discovered the blocks didn’t meet up as they should have. <big sigh of frustration here> I cut all of my strips at 2.5″ so that made all of my 9 patch blocks larger than 5.5″, which was the size of my images. This discrepancy didn’t dawn on me until I was on the third row and decided to start joining my rows. When I saw that the blocks weren’t lining up, I measured and found a large discrepancy. Break out the seam ripper… Over to the cutting table and with ruler and rotary cutter, I trimmed down every piece to 5.5″. This will make my blocks 5″, which will work with the images being 5.5″ (with 1/4″ seam allowance, they’ll stay at 5″) Then, as I was reworking my blocks, I realized that I was setting myself up for more mismatching because all of the pieces were 2.5″. This seems like a never ending nightmare. I quit cutting last night when I realized that I would have to re-cut every piece forward. So today is set — cutting and measuring so that hopefully, tomorrow I can begin sewing in earnest. This will be the quilt to be remembered, for sure.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. I was going to write about the President’s State of the Union speech, but I think I said it all on Facebook last night. I don’t usually watch the SOTU speeches, but last night I did and I liked it.

Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. Make each day a memorable one. Blessings to all…

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NAJOWRIMO DAY 13: JANUARY 13, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    That’s the biggest problem I have when cutting. I’m almost always off. Most of my quilt blocks have added borders because of this. LOL. The current quilt is a cut and sew a piece then cut another….so off sizes should n’t matter at all.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

