NAJOWRIMO DAY 16: JANUARY 16, 2016

IMG_3769

This is a rail grinder. It moves along the tracks, grinding and profiling the rail head. I took this at 2:30 a.m. this morning. I’d gone to bed around 11:45 p.m. and went to sleep almost immediately. But my gut has been bothering me and the pain finally poked me bad enough to wake me around 2:00 a.m. I quietly got up and moved through the house to the office. I turned on the small space heater and my computer. As I sat there playing games on the computer, a bit of light between the blinds caught my attention. When I opened up the blinds, this is what I saw. It’s an impressive piece of equipment during the daytime, but, even more awesome to see working at night. There were four other vehicles on the rails with red lights flashing, plus one on the road that leads up to the highway. The one on the road had a yellow flashing and rotating light and was just sitting there — I think he was protecting access to the railroad while the equipment was working.

Around 4:00 a.m., my gut settled down enough that I was able to recapture my feeling of sleepiness so off to bed I went. This morning, there’s no sight of the rail grinder. But I’d be willing to bet he’s out at the east end of town, sitting by the Chevron station, where U.P. and BNSF set out all of their track equipment. The ballast next to the track is all clean and perfectly profiled, looking like a light gray ribbon next to the track. The crews were working on the track a couple of days ago, replacing some of the rail that was worn. It’s such a joy to see this machine operating at night. I’ve always said it’s like Christmas on the rails with all of the lights.

It’s such a joy to see this machine operating at night. I’ve always said it’s like Christmas on the rails with all of the lights.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. Know that YOU are loved as well. Your presence in this life is important–each of us is important to the world at large.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NAJOWRIMO DAY 16: JANUARY 16, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    What a lovely piece. A pleassure to read…all but your tummy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • tehachap says:

      Yeah… I know you know what I go through when it flares up. I guess we all have to have some part of our body that doesn’t work quite right, else we wouldn’t have anything to complain about!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

