NAJOWRIMO DAY 17: JANUARY 17, 2016

Here’s an even better photo of the rail grinder taken at night. Robert took this one last night. ItDSCN2797 reminds me of a cruise ship, sailing into the night with all of the lights on the various decks blazing away.

We’ve had an excellent train day today with trains running about 15 min. apart, going both directions. Lots of movement.

Other than this, the only sound is the football game playing on the t.v. in the other room. A very comfortable noise for napping. I don’t know what it is about the sound of football or baseball games on t.v. that makes one just want to nod off. Must be the modulating of the announcer’s voices–that low thrum that’s like a lullaby.

Robert’s so good about calling out specials from the Sunday newspaper ads. He let me know about all the goodies that Michael’s has to offer, but as he was reciting the prices and specials I replied, “Michael’s doesn’t sell fabric.” To which he said, “Well, so much for Michael’s” and laid the ad aside.

Too true — I used to hunt through the paper for their ad, to see what I could buy on sale. Not anymore. Moving to Tehachapi cured me of that one. And now with the scrapbook shop gone, there’s even less incentive to play with paper and all the trappings of scrapbooking. I never could get into scrapbooking, but one customer commented to me when I used to volunteer there in the shop that I actually was scrapbooking when I created my collage greeting cards and Artist Trading Cards (ATC’s). True enough, I replied, amazed that I hadn’t seen that myself. But I no longer make Artist Trading Cards and have given most of my ATC’s away. I used to swap with other artists from all around the world. It was a lot of fun. Now my enjoyment comes from creating with fabric.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. Love is the glue that binds us together — don’t know who said that, but it’s true.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NAJOWRIMO DAY 17: JANUARY 17, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    And there is always Rosies down here. LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

