NAJOWRIMO DAY 26: JANUARY 26, 2016

I must have been really stressed out because I had the wrong date/day on yesterday’s journal entry. No one called me out on it, so either I don’t have any commenters who noted this error, or no one cares. But today is today and it is truly the 26th, Tuesday, as a matter of fact.

Yesterday evening was not a good time. The call about my daughter-in-law’s father’s terrible condition just shook me something horrible. Beyond the fact that our younger son is married to this man’s daughter, I graduated from high school with his wife, and HER mother and MY mother were close friends who lived at opposite ends of the same block in North Clairemont (San Diego). I think that losing Robert’s dad last Fall is increasing my worry about Max’s condition. His situation seems so untenable — they need to find out what’s going on in his

I think that losing Robert’s dad last Fall and the closeness I feel toward this family is affecting the degree of my worry about Max’s condition. His situation seems so untenable — they need to find out what’s going on in his stomach and why it’s not functioning as it should (he vomits anything taken in, which hints at a blockage of some kings OR, as the surgeon suggested, he stapled the stomach too tightly.) Because of the surgical staples, they can’t do an MRI, and because he throws everything up, he can’t drink the contrast because he can’t keep it down long enough for them to do a CT scan. Plus, in order to do the CT scan, they would have to inflate his stomach with air, which might tear the staples and surgical line in his stomach. I have to wonder when they decided that surgical staples were a better way to close up an incision than surgical sutures. Faster? No doubt, but better? I have to wonder now that Max is in this critical situation. They’re going to decide on doing an endoscopy. Notwithstanding all of this, the poor man has had nothing to eat for the past three weeks, since the day of the surgery, and consequently, how bowels aren’t doing anything. How can they operate on a person like this without knowing before going in what the outcome will be?? <great sighs of sadness and frustration here>

All we can do is pray and wait. I’ve put out a call to family and friends who participate in prayer circles to add Max to their prayers. I’m a firm believer in prayer, even though I’m not a religious person; spiritual, yes, religious? no.

The sun is slowly crawling up the side of the hills across the way. It’s cooler in the house without that bit of sunshine. Time to put a sweater on and see about dinner. Here’s a photo of the sun going down on our hills. The trains headlights are on and the cars coming up the highway have their headlights on–a sure sign that night is fast approaching.

IMG_3792

Be safe, be well (please) and please be happy. We all have trials in life; we must remain strong and trust that all will be well eventually. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. Love can sustain us and help carry us through the difficult times in our lives.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NAJOWRIMO DAY 26: JANUARY 26, 2016

  1. poolagirl says:

    You can never say, “I love you” too much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

