NAJOWRIMO DAY 30: JANUARY 30, 2016

A friend, Jim China Harris posted on his Facebook page, “Good morning! I’m on the right side of the dirt today, and I love my family.” What an instant mood lifter this is. I realize that it’s been 5 months since I broke my shoulder, but I am still in daily pain and my nights are incredibly difficult at times. I try to not take anything for the pain because it affects my digestive tract, so toughing it out is the only option. This attitude can be a bit of a downer in the mornings, especially when the night before was especially rough. I’m hanging in there and trusting (believing) that time will lessen the pain. I have family and friends who are in much worse pain than I’m experiencing so will just have to suck it up a bit more and quit my whining.

I’ve been searching the internet for ideas on how to quilt my grandson’s red and black Panda quilt. Leah Day has a tutorial on YouTube, Leah Day Quilts a Nine Patch,  that I’m going to try to follow. It’s all straight stitching but adds dimension to the quilt top, and the back will be attractive too. Thankfully, the quilt is smaller than my usual Queen or King size quilts. Whew!

This evening we will go to the Depot for a Celebration of Life for our friend, Sharon Greenelsh. Sharon battled Alzheimer’s for several years before passing on the 9th of this month. Her husband is one of the Signal Crew guys and they’ve been good friends of ours ever since we got involved with the Tehachapi Depot. We have two other members of the signal crew in the hospital and a family member in the hospital in San Diego. It’s a rough start to a New Year.

Please be safe, take care of yourself and your loved ones, and be happy. There’s always something to be grateful for in every day. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. Being loved is one of life’s greatest gifts.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NAJOWRIMO DAY 30: JANUARY 30, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    Morning dear you. 🙂

    No, after five months you should not still be in pain. Call your orthopedic guy and complain. More PT might help. I know you don’t want to take pain pills, but I have found 2 Tylenol at night makes the next day a much better thing. In good weather I can even skip that too. Hugs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

