NAJOWRIMO DAY 31: JANUARY 31, 2016

It’s been a strange couple of days here. My computer’s operating system was Vista, but I kept receiving a warning that Windows wasn’t going to be supporting it or Windows XP. So, I decided to install Windows 7. I started the install on Saturday evening and the install was fairly trouble free. However, after it installed the system announced that it had no less than 218 updates to apply. Knowing that some of these updates were probably critical to the security of the system,  I agreed and the system began downloading and applying the updates. The system seemed to take forever at Update No. 98, so I went to bed last night, leaving the computer to hopefully finish before morning. Back up at 6:00 a.m., the computer was still stuck at Update 98, so I canceled the update and went to the Internet to see if I could find a workaround. I saw numerous messages about Windows 7 locking up during the update process and a suggestion for using Microsoft FixIt. I downloaded FixIt and began running it. Four hour

Back up at 6:00 a.m. this morning, the computer was still stuck at Update 98, so I canceled the update and went to the Internet to see if I could find a workaround. I saw numerous messages about Windows 7 locking up during the update process and a suggestion for using Microsoft FixIt. I downloaded FixIt and began running it. Four hours later, it too appeared to be hung up so I canceled it and shut the system down. When I turned it back on, it appeared to be finishing up the updates. It shut down one more time and when it came back up, it appeared to be o.k. (well, as ‘o.k.’ as any Windows run computer can be) So here I am,

So here I am, a day late, but not a dollar short on finishing my month of journal writing. I do hope my computer continues to work o.k. I had a thought of having to put it into the shop and didn’t even want to think about being without it for the 2-3 days it would most likely take to fix my computer. So far, so good, it seems to be working o.k.

Our weather is the other thing that’s been unbelievable this weekend.  It started snowing last night and the wind started blowing really hard. The news said we were having wind gusts up to 75 mph. Amazing. And the snow was coming down fast and furious. This morning, everything was covered in white. The hillsides were gorgeous and no traffic was moving on the train tracks OR the highway!

IMG_3802

 

 

 

 

A “power move” occurred just a while ago — Nine BNSF locomotives all heading west. Robert said that he saw these same locomotives heading east just a few hours ago. He said they were possibly checking the track for drifts.

IMG_3803

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. If you have to be out and about in the snow and ice, be doubly-careful.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

