Monday, February 1, 2016

I’m a day late, but my computer was in the throes of running updates. It all started on Saturday night when I decided to install Windows 7 on my computer. Arrrgh. Never did I dream it would be as much of a nightmare as it’s been. I have had to reinstall most of my software, and naturally, I couldn’t find any of my original disks. <sigh> So I was forced to download programs from the Internet. I never saw so many  updates for one program in my life — 218 updates were ‘mandatory’ and an additional 3 were ‘advisable’. Well, hello… I have nothing to do for the next 72+ hours, so yes, please tie up my computer for those hours. I’ll sit here and read a book and twiddle my thumbs until it’s finished. Except it didn’t finish as quickly as I thought it would and I wound up shutting down the computer and starting it back up again. Whereupon, it stated it had 98 updates to do. Unreal…

So, here’s the post for Tuesday, February 2, 2016

I finally got my computer working to the point where I could post things. And I managed to download and print out my bill list for the first of the month, so bills can be paid. On to other topics…

On Saturday evening, we attended a memorial service at the Tehachapi Depot for a friend who passed away on the 9th of last month. Sad to lose her, but she had advanced Alzheimer’s and it was getting to be a real ordeal for her husband. She no longer knew him or anyone of their kids or grandkids. Such a wicked disease to have to deal with.  I made personalized miniature candy bars with her photo on them and they were a real hit with the husband and their family. It makes a nice memento for people for any special occasion.

I’ve spent the day dusting and cleaning upstairs and down in preparation for the in-law’s visit later this week. I picked up several throw rugs and put them in the washer along with the throw rugs that lay in front of the washer and dryer. I swept the laundry room floor, and took the dust mop around the rest of the upper floor. When I heard the washing machine chime that the cycle was complete, I went back to the laundry room and discovered that the washing machine had leaked all over the floor. Arrrgh… well, I guess I needed to mop that floor after all! I grabbed an old beach towel out of the linen closet and began sopping up the water. Later on, it occurred to me why that washer had leaked — I had somehow blocked the drain holes in the tub and forced the water to go out around the gasket of the wash tub. It’s the only thing I could think of that would have caused it. I told Robert I thought that was why it had happened those times before — we’d inadvertently overloaded the machine! Interesting… Once all of the rugs were dry, I put them back in their respective places and the floors are now ‘company-ready.’ I dusted the stairs and went down and stripped all of the beds and put fresh linens out on the beds. Tomorrow I’ll go down and make the beds and make sure everything is ready for company.

I still have the Panda quilt to be stitched and I know how I’m going to quilt it–I just need to regain control/possession of the dining room table. Robert has been sorting slide photos and has virtually taken over the dining room table. LOL Ah me… I’ve been clearing out stuff in my art room cabinet, and also in the laundry room cabinets. I have a growing pile of items for the thrift shop, which I’ll try to get to tomorrow. I also need to get the recyclables turned in.

We’re both doing good, health-wise. Robert’s neurologist’s office did call this morning to say that they wanted a follow-up appointment for 2-3 months from now so I agreed to book the appointment for May 17th. We should be back from Arizona by then.

Not much else going on — the snow is melting but it’s still very cold.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to remind those you love that you love them.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

