Wednesday, February 3, 2016

One of our friends was released from the hospital yesterday. He and his wife took very good care of us when my shoulder was broken, bringing us hot cooked meals almost daily (including dessert!) that I feel I need to repay the favor. So this morning I put a pot roast in the oven with onions and celery and spices. It’s making the whole house smell wonderful. I thought to myself as I was peeling the carrots and potatoes that I should have bought two roasts and cooked one for us. I have a number of errands to run today so I just might go back to the market and pick up another roast.

The tray for our microwave cracked in half several weeks ago. I immediately went online and ordered a replacement. The replacement took forever to get here because of our stormy weather, and when it did arrive, we noticed that it clunked when the microwave was on. Yep. Murphy’s Law — it doesn’t fit. So now I have to look for another one and see if I can find one that will work. I hate to think we’ll have to replace the microwave just because we can’t find a glass tray to fit it. I’m using a dinner plate for right now, and it works o.k. except for when we microwave popcorn. For whatever reason, it doesn’t pop nearly as well as with the glass tray. And we do love our popcorn at night.

Our daughter-in-law’s father is not doing well at all. He’s still in the hospital and the doctors are going to be installing a Picc line for him today, in order to begin feeding him intravenously. He hasn’t eaten solid (or liquid) food for almost a month now and he’s weak, in incredible pain and very depressed.  If you pray, please keep Max Morris in your prayers and if you don’t pray, just think positive thoughts for his healing. This has been a really horrible ordeal for him. It started with a tumor in the lining of his stomach. The dr’s removed it and released Max from the hospital too soon. They said he could drink liquids, but within hours of his first liquid intake he began vomiting it back up. Less than 24 hrs. later, he was in the ER. They determined that his stomach was twisted and would require another surgery. We thought that this second surgery would fix things, but he’s been unable to eat or drink anything and has been surviving on intravenous solutions. This has caused him to lose muscle tone and become very frail and weak. Your kind thoughts and prayers are humbly requested.

I do have one final gripe and that’s about authors who allow their books to be e-published with errors in them. I labored through my last book, overlooking the numerous wrong words, misspelled words and improper grammar. When I got to the end of the book, it was a total surprise — I didn’t realize that it was a serial book, and the author left numerous situations hanging. I rated the book with a single star and opened the next book up. I began reading the introduction and right away I saw the second sentence had a misspelled word in it. That just finished it for me, and I deleted the book from my Kindle. What I should have done was to write the author and tell them that their proofreader wasn’t very good and that errors in spelling and grammar make reading their books a real chore, rather than a pleasure. In the past, I’ve written to authors and asked how they felt about being told about inconsistencies in their story line or errors in grammar, spelling or punctuation. Two authors have since asked me to be a beta reader and to proofread their work before it gets released. I’m all for e-publishing or self-publishing, but authors need to make sure their work is the very best they can produce before releasing it onto the public. Even if the book is free, it should be free of errors and glaring inconsistencies.

That’s all the rant I have in me right now. Please be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wednesday, February 3, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    Catching up backwards today. Yes microwaves….grrrrrr, We have a very nice but older one. They say we have to have 1100 watts these days and our machine is in the 700’s. I’d really go to Catalina again before buying a new microwave. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

