Friday, February 5, 2016

What will be, will be. Yesterday started out kind of strange for me, emotionally. I felt out of sorts, like something was amiss, but I didn’t know what. We decided to take our pickup truck and put it in the shop — it had some kind of leak and Robert wasn’t up to working on it. We started out and I pulled out into the cul-de-sac, waiting for Robert to start out in front of me. He hesitated, so I went ahead and headed out. I turned onto Brite Valley and got halfway down and didn’t see him in my rearview mirror on the side of the car, so I stopped. He happened to take his eyes off the road for a minute and the next time he looked, I was stopped dead in the road. He hit me full on. It hurt my back and I’m now off to the dr’s to see if I can get an x-ray to see if there’s any broken bones. I’m hoping not… I can move o.k, but certain positions are extremely painful. Needless to say, I slept sitting up last night. I know there’s such a thing as premonitions, and I should have realized that something wasn’t quite right when I had such strong feelings yesterday morning. But we often ignore what we can’t understand, and I did just that.

I’d stopped on my way out when I saw our next door neighbor coming back home. I told her I thought we’d be able to make it to Arizona after all, but didn’t want to actually voice it for fear I would jinx it. And then, two blocks away, it got jinxed. <sigh> I told my husband that our kids were going to put us in a home if we didn’t start getting our act together better than we were doing.

I know we’re a long way off from a Senior Citizen’s care facility, but speaking of that, apparently a friend of ours has already signed up to accept one of the spots in the not-yet-built Senior Citizen complex to be built over by the new hospital! Tehachapi might be an o.k. place for seniors afterall! Though I know our kids want us back in San Diego when we reach that point.

Meanwhile, I’ve been draining the swamp of stuff I don’t use. I hit the pantry this morning and got the back seat and trunk of the car filled with stuff. I included the HP all in one printer that I gave up on. A little here, a little there, and eventually all will be cleared out and we’ll have a house that’s free of clutter and unnecessary stuff.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. I ask for continued prayers for my daughter-in-law’s father, Max, who remains hospitalized after two surgeries on his stomach. Pray for healing and for the internal bleeding to stop. And pray for strength for him and his family as they move through this crisis. Thanks… and please be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friday, February 5, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    OK, we want to know how you are doing now, is the car ok, is the truck ok, and how is Robert. You left out all the details.

    Like

    • tehachap says:

      I’m fine … Robert’s fine. The Honda has a dent in the trunk and the bumper has some scratches on it; Robert’s truck’s front bumper will need replacing.but that’s all. We’ll go to a recycle yard and pick up parts. No sense going to the ins. company with this. I saw the dr. this afternoon and he gave me a prescription for Flexeril (muscle relaxant) and something for my asthma (my inhaler isn’t doing the trick and the respiratory infection I had kicked up my asthma (like always). He wants me to have bloodwork done and we discussed the bit about the nephrologist. Apparently, my cretin?? numbers were up–not dangerously, but high enough for him to refer me. He says the dr. should have called me. They didn’t and when I called THEM, they gave me a run-around so I never followed up. I don’t like games that people play with the phone.

      Like

  2. poolagirl says:

    Wishing you healing. Rest up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

