Thursday, February 11, 2016

Another beautiful day today. We took Robert’s brother and sister-in-law to breakfast at Kelcy’s this morning. We knew they both liked looking at historical photos so figured Kelcy’s was the place to go for breakfast. We had a really good meal and afterwards, we hugged and said our goodbye’s out on the sidewalk. Robert gave his brother directions on how to get to the freeway and I headed into the Trains, Etc. store to grab a quick hug and hello to Linda, the owner of the store. Linda wasn’t there, but Ed, her husband was. He said she’d be in this afternoon. I don’t know that I’ll be able to catch her then. I have a full day ahead of me.

I have the front trim on my sweatshirt pinned and ready to be sewn, and the quilt block on the back needs bias pinned and sewn. About an hour’s worth of sewing, so I should have it finished by this afternoon.

I need to take a car load of donations to Caring & Sharing. We’ve finally agreed that the two cases of 331/3 RPM vinyl records need to be passed along. We had all kinds of plans for them, but the plans were never activated, and the boxes just shuffled from inside our closet to outside the closet and back. It’s like we want to keep them, but don’t want to KEEP them. There’s so much stuff in this house that we truly do not need. Before I go, I’ll take a quick run through my clothes closet and grab anything that I haven’t worn in the last year. Downstairs, we have a queen-size comforter that gets moved from one closet to another. We have one bedroom with a queen bed and the couch in the lounge area makes into a queen size bed. We have two queen size comforters that we use on those two beds PLUS a heavyweight cotton brocade bedspread that we use for the one queen-size bed. We should get rid of one of the comforters. And while we’re at it, we need to let go of the mismatched coffee cups that are gathering dust in the galley cupboard.

Now that I can re-claim my dining room table as workspace for quilting, I can get the Panda quilt quilted and binding added. I want to get it finished before we go to San Diego. We’ve decided to go after the Depot group’s breakfast on the 18th. The 18th happens to be the eldest son’s birthday and he’ll turn 49 years young. Hard to believe, but at the same time, I learned the other day that my niece will turn 50 this month! She was the baby of my sister’s five children (three boys and two girls).

We took a drive to Ojai yesterday and it was quite an ordeal. On our way there, we came upon a bad accident on Southbound I-5. A semi truck had rolled over on its side for some reason, blocking a couple of the lanes. Traffic was stopped dead for the better part of an hour and finally we got moving. Then last night on our way home, we saw a single car accident on Hwy 58, where a car had rolled over onto its side. Two roll-over accidents in one day — scary.  No apparent cause for either accident.

Well, I need to be getting off this computer and getting my sewing done, so will close this with blessings to all, be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. And be extra careful when you’re driving.

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thursday, February 11, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    Sounds like you are back in your groove. Here, I feel like a human some of the time. Hugs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

