Wednesday, February 24, 2016

102_0423

Superstition Mountains — Apache Junction, AZ 2015

We arrived here on Sunday and it’s taken two days to get my Internet connection up and running, even though I called a week before we left home and requested it be turned on in time for our arrival. I went through several phone calls without success and the final straw was reached when the fourth representative transferred me to collections — even though my bill is on auto-pay. <sigh> So I drove to the nearest office in Mesa, AZ, and did a face-to-face discussion. The rep there said I had over 20 orders on my account! At this point I had to laugh it was so ridiculous. While I was at it, I added a land line service so my land line will always be available as soon as we arrive. I was able to keep my phone number too, so that’s nice.

Tonight is Card Night and Robert will be playing 31 with several of the people here in the park. I never could really grasp the rules of the game so I work on the jigsaw puzzle on the other side of the room. And I bake cookies to share with those in the card room and the billiards room next door. I’ve been receiving e-mails from people here in the park, asking when the “Cookie Lady” was going to be coming in. I bake on Wednesdays and Saturdays, for those are the two card playing nights. It’s just a ritual I got into when Robert’s dad was still alive. We’d never lived close enough to him for me to be able to give him home baked goodies so when we were able to live here in the park during the winter, I started baking for him during card nights. And the tradition just took off…

And I sew for people–mending tears, taking garments in or letting them out, and I’ve made a couple of the place mats for a card game called Hand & Foot. I’ve already had my first sewing request for this season! I’ve given my Kenmore sewing machine to my niece so will use it for the last time this season and will take it back with me to give to her. Next time we come to AZ, I’ll have to bring one of my other machines and I haven’t decided which one to take. I could always use the ones in the Creative Crafts room, but I like to sew at night and am not comfortable being out at night, even though the park is a very safe place to be. I prefer to sew on my own machine in my own home.

I’m going to close this for now — I went to bed before 11:00 p.m., but couldn’t sleep so got up to take some Tylenol. I ask you to be safe, be well, and please be happy. Take care of yourself and those you love. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wednesday, February 24, 2016

  1. wyndes says:

    This sounds really nice! I’m glad you enjoy your winters.

    Like

  2. gabecyr says:

    Glad you finally got down here! I can picture you bringing home-baked goodies to that card group. Wait! I did that with you once…. I’m sure they are all glad you got there!

    Like

  3. mageb says:

    Welcome to your other home. Pictures please. Are there trains nearby?

    Like

    • tehachap says:

      Nope… no trains nearby at all. Will post a couple of photos that I took last season. Did my first round of baking this morning — peanut butter cookies baked in mini-muffin pans and I added a Snicker’s bites to the center after baking. Will post a photo…

      Like

Leave a Reply

