Thursday, February 25, 2016

I’m a “Bibliophilia” — a fancy name for a lover of books. I’m a member of a local group of people who read and share reviews of books called “Facebookies.” This morning, there was a mention of a site called “Atlasobscura.com” and it talked about lighthouse libraries. It is a fascinating tale about life in the keeping of a lighthouse and the importance of books to the people who live in the lighthouse.

http://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/the-most-precious-cargo-for-lighthouses-across-america-was-a-traveling-library

I read hardback, softback, e-books (on the computer and on a 1st Generation Kindle). I always have one or two books in progress. I carry my Kindle in my purse so if the opportunity to read presents itself, I’m ready.

The other link that came from the Facebookies post was one for Booktube:

http://bookriot.com/2014/04/02/beginners-guide-booktube/

If you’re looking for a book review site, this one’s for you. I personally don’t read a lot of book reviews, trusting my own instincts on whether a book would be of interest to me or not. One point of discussion in book reading is the question, “What would make you quit reading a book?” A very good question, indeed. My biggest hot trigger is errors — grammatical, spelling, inconsistencies in story line, or too much background information before getting to the reason for the background. (Tom Clancy’s work is a good example of this — after the first couple of novels, his work became more textbook than novel.

But these are just my own observations…

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them. If you’re not a fan of reading, you should reconsider your position. Books are doorways to the world and you can use them to broaden your mind or escape into a fantasy world.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thursday, February 25, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    If I am bored, I stop reading. If the mystery is too bloody, I may finish the book but not read another by that author. Those are two reasons.

    Like

Leave a Reply

