Sunday, February 28, 2016

100_0453

Desert Wildflower 2014

Today is our eldest grandson’s 16th birthday. His father has taken him on a deep sea fishing trip to celebrate this special day. When I learned of this trip, it made me very happy because my father, (his maternal great-grandfather) was an avid deep sea fisherman. One year my two sisters and I threw a surprise birthday party for him and put “El Loco Pescador” (The Crazy Fisherman) on his cake.

When he went deep sea fishing, he’d go out on special boats and he’d be gone for a couple of days or even a couple of weeks at a time. When he returned, he’d have all kinds of fish, far more fish than we could ever eat. He’d call Robert to bring his truck and meet him down at the sports fishing marina. They’d load all of this fish in the back of the truck and Robert would drive through the poor part of town with my father calling out in Spanish, “Free fish! Free Fish! Come get it! Free Fish!” and he’d give all of the fish away.

Our son liked to fish, fresh water or salt water, it didn’t matter. And his aunt (my next eldest sister) was also an avid fisherman (fisherWOMAN??) and had a collection of expensive saltwater fishing gear. Some of her fishing reels and rods cost hundreds of dollars. Amazing how something as simple as an interest in fishing can pass through generations of family members. I didn’t know this about her until after she’d passed away and we discovered all of her fishing equipment.

On another note, I’m always writing about how small my world is. Well, my neighbors across the street here at Roadhaven have a son, who happens to be the Sergeant at the Tehachapi substation on Woodford Tehachapi Road, about 5 blocks from where we live when we’re not in Arizona. Today, I checked out the online issue of the Tehachapi News and guess who was on the front page?? Yep. Our neighbor’s son. Kinda neat. I’m going to print out the story and give it to his mom later on today. We were just talking about him yesterday when the women got together for happy hour. (Yeah, sometimes we’re segregated by sex here for our happy hour–we have a neighbor who, for whatever reason, every now and then wants only the guys at happy hour and he tells the women to go somewhere else. I begrudgingly oblige him, but wonder at his attitude–even for a very nice man, I think he’s a chauvinist at heart!)

The days have been warmer than we expected, but it’s still nice to be here.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday, February 28, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    George likes to fish too. All those rods and reels and miles of fishing line. I let him go with a smile.

    Like

Leave a Reply

