Wednesday, March 2, 2016

Wednesday and Saturday are Card Nights and coincidentally, they’re baking days, because I bake cookies for the people in the card room (and the Billiards Room). Tonight was the first night I brought cookies in and we received a very warm welcome from all of our friends. They all wanted to know why we were so late arriving and so I gave them an abbreviated story about my broken shoulder and Robert’s health issues. I made Raw Apple Cookies with raisins–they’re a recipe from Robert’s mother and one that makes a lot of very tasty cookies. His mother told me she’d taken the recipe from the back of a sack of flour from the mill–the mill being the Wal-Rogalsky Milling Company where Robert’s dad worked as a miller.

IMG_3821

I thought I had the recipe in my Recipes folder on my computer. Searched for it and found zilch. So I went to the Internet to my old/original web page that I had when Geocities was alive and well. It was my online diary and catch all for any information that I wanted to keep handy–like favorite recipes. Here’s the link to the Archived page:

http://web.archive.org/web/20090729074012/http://geocities.com/tehachap/

                                                              RAW APPLE COOKIES
Another favorite of my family is this recipe for Raw Apple Cookies. They not only keep well (in a closed container), but they ship well too. I can’t take credit for the recipe — it’s from my mother-in-law, Zola Westover (July 1919-November 1980). This recipe makes about 3 dozen 2″ cookies, but I always double the recipe because a single recipe just doesn’t last very long.

Cream until fluffy:
1/2 lb. (two cubes) Nucoa margarine (or butter)
3/4 Cups dark brown sugar
3/4 Cups granulated sugar

Add:
3 eggs, beating well after each addition
1 Tsp. vanilla

Stir in:
2 Cups peeled, diced apples (any kind)       1/2 Cup raisins or chopped walnuts
1 Tsp Baking Soda                                   1 Tsp. Cinnamon
1 Tsp Ground Ginger                               1 Tsp. Ground Cloves

Add:
3  Cups all-purpose flour

Bake:
In a 350 degree oven on ungreased cookie sheets for 8-10 min. or until lightly browned.

I have been sorting pony beads for a patio sale to be held this coming Saturday. I hope to be able to sell most, if not all of my beads. What I don’t sell, I will leave behind here in AZ. I never used them there in Tehachapi, and people make pony bead necklaces here to use with their badges so I’m sure they’ll be popular.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

 
 

 

 

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wednesday, March 2, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    I’m trying so hard not to eat cookies any more, but they call to me. Hugs to you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

