Sunday, March 6, 2016

Is the year going fast enough for you?? It surely is for me. I feel like we’ve just barely arrived here and already people are packing up and getting ready to head back to their summer homes.

I made M&M cookies for the card room last night and there were only about 12 people playing instead of the 20-30 that are usually there. The billiard room was a ghost town with only 2 people playing. I returned one book that I had finished (James Patterson’s “Invisible”, which was a real page turner with a surprise ending) and picked up J.Jance’s “Moving Target.”

My computer is still giving me nasty warnings about my Windows software. I’ve ordered a newer version of the software, (the version I have installed is actually ours, which was included with the purchase of a new computer), but the activation key that I copied down isn’t being accepted. Consequently, none of my programs are working. Arrrgh! And it all began because Google warned that my Vista OS wasn’t going to be supported because Windows wasn’t providing updates or support anymore. I felt forced to upgrade to a newer program and since we weren’t really using the new computer with the newer version of Windows software, I felt justified in taking the software and putting it on my computer. Little did I know — I should have stayed with Vista, where all of my programs ran just fine. If I could go back now, I surely would. I was forced to upgrade my WordPerfect software, (which I had to order online), and I haven’t checked, but I’m betting that my MicroGrafix Draw 6.0 program won’t run under any of the newer OS’s. So that means I have to find another program to use for my cardmaking hobby. Is there any end to this run of software dominoes falling??? I’m not even going to begin to discuss the amount of money this is costing.

Enough whining for now–onward and upward. The temperatures have dropped a bit today, which I really appreciate. By this Wednesday, the temperature will be hovering in the mid-60’s!! Whoo hoo! I love it! LOL

We held a Patio Sale yesterday morning — it was a park-wide sale and whatever wasn’t sold, could be donated to the Lion’s Club. The Lion’s Club drove a truck around the park after the sale was over, picking up anything that didn’t sell and that people wanted to donate. Although I had a few items left after the sale, I didn’t have anything that I wanted to donate. I had a number of people who tried to haggle with the prices I had put on things. I was actually more than fair in my pricing and even gave people a break when they were buying a quantity of things. I have one ‘acidic’ neighbor/friend who says that he would break something rather than sell it for less than what he’d priced it for. Haggling was NOT his thing at all. LOL I kind of enjoy it if people do it with respect. I’m a firm believer of a bird in the hand is better than two in the bush!

I see that Trump’s popularity is taking a bit of a hit–good to see. I would hate for our beautiful country to be the laughing stock of the world should he actually get elected as President.

Blessings to all… be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday, March 6, 2016

  1. poolagirl says:

    Glad you had a good sale and were able to donate the rest. That is very good of you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

