Sunday, March 13, 2016

What can I say? I have a new laptop computer, and I don’t have a respiratory infection. These are good things. Well, kinda/sorta good things. Not being sick is great, but getting used to a new computer and getting it all set up is a real challenge.

It is most definitely a different operating system, and the space bar is the pits! Notwithstanding this, the cursor seems to have a mind of its own and is never where I expect it to be. Consequently, I wind up going back and erasing stuff and then re-writing it where it belongs. <sigh> I also seem to hit the wrong keys at times and my screen will zoom three times the normal size, or shrink down to an unreadable blur. This too shall pass — hopefully!

Since I don’t know how this computer SHOULD be acting, I have no way of telling whether it’s ‘buggy’ or not. I shall hang in there and keep trying. It’s the only logical thing to do.

Our weather is great–sunshine and a cool breeze. Nice! There’s a gradual shrinking in the number of park residents; people are packing up and heading back to their Summer homes. We’ll be here for a while longer, but are open to leaving before our planned departure date if the weather turns hot.

Just turned off Cortuna or whatever the name is for the ‘assistant’ on this computer. It just pops up whenever, and is more disruptive than helpful.

Well, enough whining for now, I leave you with blessings and thoughts of a pleasant day for you. Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

 

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday, March 13, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    Why in heaven’s name did you buy a laptop? LOL My laptop does all those things and it’s my fingers. You can get a plug in mouse that will solve some of those problems. It helps.

    Like

  2. tehachap says:

    I wanted the computer to be portable and to take up less space/equipment/cords than a full size tower would do. I have limited space here and just needed to have something portable that I could plug in when we get here and that would keep me connected. I’ll have to do something to the other computer situation–not sure what right now. I might just continue to use the laptop at home. I was able to plug in my external hard drive and call up my data, but the external hard drive is larger than the hard drive on the laptop so it’s incredibly slow. I don’t know what to do about all of my photos that I have on that drive. Where are yours stored? Do you trust the Cloud??

    Like

Leave a Reply

