Tuesday, March 22, 2016

This was the day my parents married, those many years ago. Growing up, we never noticed that they didn’t really celebrate their wedding anniversary. As children who were regularly admonished to not ask questions, my two sisters and I never questioned the absence of celebrations, and it wasn’t until after both of our parents passed away that we were able to put together the true picture of their marriage. Many more things (secrets, if you will) came to light when a half-sister showed up out of the blue and gave us some of the missing pieces of history.

Today, I have two of four sisters left alive–the eldest sister, who is a full sister to the half-sister that had been given up for adoption at birth, has advanced Parkinson’s and no longer speaks; the other sister is the younger, full sister to me. I see her about once every 10 years and she’s never been to our home in Tehachapi–and I doubt she ever will as she has health problems that prevent her from flying or traveling for long distances.

This day has always made me pensive, wondering how my life would have been different if this were different or if that hadn’t happened. It’s enough for me to say that I’m happy with the way my life has turned out. I feel very blessed and am grateful for all that I am given in life.

Be safe, be well, be happy — be grateful for the gifts you HAVE, and for those you DON’T HAVE. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them, and if you feel you’ve hurt someone’s feelings, apologize.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tuesday, March 22, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    We are happy they had you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Carol, Its always good to have family, even when you don’t see or hear from them!
    Mike

    Like

Leave a Reply

