Sunday, April 3, 2016

The park is winding down–like the land in the fall, getting ready for winter, people are packing up, using up the last of their perishables, and getting prepared to return to their other homes. So far today, I’ve inherited a pound of ground beef, a huge tomato plant with blooms and tomatoes, a geranium in bloom (I’m to retain the pot and keep it for its owner), and a spinning spice rack full of spices in jars. Naturally, the other half groans as people offer me things and I turn nothing down. I’ll cherry-pick the spices to add to what I already have. Some spices age and lose their potency, but things like sea salt keep for years, so I will keep that one. Other spices that I use a lot of will also be kept. Better that I take what’s offered and use what I can from it than for it all to go to the dump.

Today we have another potluck — it’s called “Clean out the refrigerator” day. I’ll use the ground beef passed to me this morning (defrost it) and combine it with a package of Knorr’s Spanish Rice to make a Spanish Rice dip (recipe is on the back of the package). These events are filled with excellent food, conversation and music, thanks to our one neighbor who is a professional musician with all of the equipment to make our event a musical. He sings (well) and plays a variety of instruments.

IMG_3826

IMG_3825

This was our Annual Block Party, held next door and across the street (the music was set up next door and the food set up on tables across the street). We blocked off the ends of the street and EVERYONE that was able to attend brought a dish to share and their own drinks. There were more than enough seats for everyone, and a great time was had by all. And yes, that’s my dear hubby sitting there in the beige lawn chair.

Our weather is warming up and the a/c is on more and more now. Sneezing keeps us reaching for tissues and antihistamines are a daily must.

Be safe, be well, and be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them,

I forgot to mention that the month of April is a NaJoWriMo month (National Journal Writing Month), so I’ll be trying my best to write each day. I may miss a couple due to traveling, but that can’t be helped.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

