Monday, April 4, 2016

Sleep is so often elusive for me. I went to bed at midnight last night, and here it is, barely two hours later and I’m in pain and wide awake. Then I suddenly remember that I almost forgot our younger son’s birthday. More importantly, I DID forget the younger grandson’s birthday last month. And yesterday, on our younger son’s birthday, I remembered that the day before had been the five year anniversary of my half-sister’s passing. I wondered (worried, actually, and not for the first time) whether I was experiencing early onset of dementia or something worse. I wondered if my chronic pain had anything to do with my failing memory.

So I went to the Internet–the big encyclopedia of life, and looked for articles on chronic pain and memory loss to see if there was actually a connection there. Sadly, there is a definite connection. An article I found here by the Institute for Chronic Pain explains how the connection was proven. Now that I know the what and the why, I know I need to work on how to come to terms with it and how to function in spite of it.

‘Tis just another thing to take on and incorporate into my life, she says with a grim smile. I can do this; I will find a way (or ways) to cope.

The beginning of my day is hours away; I hope to be able to get a few more hours of badly needed sleep before I have to officially start my day. I have things to do and I will put those things down on a list as soon as I finish this entry, for I know that I need to write things down now more than ever before.

Be safe, be well, and be happy. Take heart that sometimes new challenges may arise but you can handle them. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them — especially on their birthdays!

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday, April 4, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    Have you been to the pain clinics here? What do they say? Not sleeping isn’t ok.

    Like

    • tehachap says:

      I attended a 6 week pain clinic years ago. The only thing it did was tell my why I was hurting, which in itself was helpful, It made me understand my body better, and made me more tolerant with myself and my limitations, When I get back home, I’ll get x-rays of my back and shoulder and see what’s up with them, Then possibly injections in the Bursa in each shoulder. Finally, a renewal of my connection with a rheumatologist might be worth considering. I had tried Lyrica but the side effects got to be too much, No easy answer,,,

      Like

  2. wyndes says:

    I’m sorry you’re having such a rough time! But thanks for posting that article. My sister suffers from chronic pain and has for years, and her memory is abysmal. Knowing that the two things are connected will help me give her a little more latitude when she doesn’t remember conversations we’ve had.

    Like

    • tehachap says:

      Not remembering conversations is a frequent complaint of Robert’s, And truly, I have absolutely no recollection of anything that was said — it’s like it never happened. I have to give Robert credit — he doesn’t gripe at me nearly as much as he could, In fact, if I mention that I hurt or had a rough night with pain, he tells me he’s sorry, I feel for your sister, Chronic pain is a true bummer,

      Like

Leave a Reply

