Wednesday, April 6, 2016

I’ve become a fan of Sarah Wynde, who’s written a number of books and who happens to have a blog called Wynded Words. Today’s entry talks about living and traveling in an RV. She has plans to purchase an RV, pare down her belongings, sell her home and hit the road in the RV. I offered our own experience of living in an RV and thought I’d share it here as my entry for the day. It was a wonderful time for us as we got to know our new home town.

http://skylarknorth.com/

“My husband and I purchased a 5th wheel trailer to move our furniture, etc. up to our new home, 500 miles away, We’d purchased land, designed a new home and realized that if the current house didn’t sell before the new house was finished, we’d need a place to live. It worked just as we planned and I have to say that I have some truly wonderful memories of living in that RV. We stayed at a campground at the east edge of town that happened to be attached to a gliderport. Our space was usually along the back row, parallel to the runway, What fun to watch the planes take off and land, and the area between our area and the runway was filled with prairie dog homes. I began feeding them leftover bread and peanuts. What a hoot — what a wonderful time! And across the road from the campground were fields where carrots, onions, potatoes and beets were grown. I was able to walk through the field with grocery sacks, picking through the leavings, I tell you, there’s nothing like fresh vegetables taken from the field, There was so much produce left behind by the harvesting machines that it was disturbing to me, knowing there were so many people who could use that food. We met a lot of very nice people by just staying there — other people came and went so we never really got to know them, but one camping club stayed there and we made friends with several of the members — they even voted to have us join their club!! We didn’t, and now we don’t have an RV so wouldn’t be able to participate, but it was fun at the time, There’s one group (can’t bring the name to mind right now), that has written a book on living in an RV and living ‘on the road’ as it were, When I find it, I’ll let you know.”

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wednesday, April 6, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    Are you sorry you sold it? We too plan to store everything, rent out our condo, and go on the road for a bit. We want something small tho, perhaps self contained.

    Like

    • tehachap says:

      Not sorry at all; it served its purpose well, I do want to get another RV, but I want a motorhome and Robert wants another 5th wheel trailer, We shall see, If it was meant to be, one will show up in our future,

      Like

Leave a Reply

