Sunday, April 24, 2016

IMG_3884Progress is being made on the baby quilt. It only measures 39″x39″ so I’ll add a border to it before working on batting and backing.

Some time last year (or the year before), I picked up a project from the freebie table at a quilt guild meeting. It was yards and yards of green checked material, cut into 2 1/2″ strips. Whoever donated it had begun to make a crocheted rug but there were no instructions and no needle of the size required for this size project. A new quilting group here in Tehachapi run by Angie Wiggins offered a class on crocheted rugs but I was in Arizona at the time the class was held. I learned what size needle to use from Angie, went to Walmart and voila! there was a set of needles in stock.

IMG_3886I bought the set and went home and began to work on the rug. Needless to say, I’ve had to rip out and restart a couple of times, but it seems to be taking shape. I know that throw rugs are a tripping hazard but perhaps I can put this in the front bathroom where there won’t be as much traffic. We’ll see. My previous step-mother-in-law, Arlene, made several throw rugs–some crocheted or braided, and some made from fabric strips sewn onto canvas backing fabric. Comfortable and attractive, I admired these rugs every time I saw them. I don’t know what happened to them — they weren’t in our AZ home when we moved in. I remember basically how they were made, and I have all of her rug patterns and books in case I don’t remember as well as I think I will.

It’s a quiet Sunday today — we’re set to meet with 10 friends for Chinese food at the Great Wall this evening. I was sitting here at my computer a bit ago when I heard a long, multiple layered train horn. I glanced out the window and spotted our friend, D.T. out on the highway. (He has a train horn mounted on his truck.) I recognized his truck and trailer and picked up the phone to give him a call. Yep, it was him!  I invited him and his wife to the get together tonight — they’re neighbors with another of our Depot friends (we live in a SMALL town!) and had joined us other times when the neighbor/friend was able to be with us. We had a great time when they saw one another and realized we all knew one another! Serendipity, indeed.

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them.

 

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday, April 24, 2016

  1. mageb says:

    What fun. This all is so much fun. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

