Friday, April 29, 2016

Glad we were home today, in time to catch the malfunctioning of the water in the door feature of our refrigerator. Robert made coffee and refilled the water pitcher that we keep in the refrigIMG_3901erator. He didn’t notice that the water kept dripping out of the spigot, running down the front of the door and onto the rug and floor. I came in and immediately spotted the wet rug and the puddle that was beginning to grow. I called out to him and together we pulled the refrigerator away from the wall and he got in behind the unit and shut off the water supply. An hour later and we had a serviceman coming to the house.

In preparation for the repairman, I pulled everything off the front of the refrigerator and cleaned the surfaces. God forbid that my broken refrigerator should show signs of everyday dust! LOL

I know most everyone else is like me in that they use the front of their refrigerator as a bulletin board, holding things down with magnets picked up from their travels or at yard sales. Periodically, I remove things from the doors, but certain things always go back up–photos of the grandkids, photos of the creator (now deceased) of Train Mountain, bumper stickers from my half-sister Nancy, (who died in 2010), photos of the oldest son when he was still in Jr. High, cartoons from Pickles newspaper cartoons. You know the stuff — but the important stuff is the chart that says when to put out the trash or the recyclables, and the chart that tells when the landfill is open. Important stuff…

The part for our refrigerator is now on order and should be ready for pick-up some time next week. The repairman has to drive to Bakersfield to pick it up–a trip of 40+ miles, one way–a trip he’ll make if he has to, but would prefer he has another reason to travel that distance. Like us and others who live here on top of the mountain, we hate having to go off the mountain for anything. So we hold off until we can’t put it off any longer and then we make our list and head for the highway. We know it’ll be sooo good to get back home again. We’re of an age where we really don’t like leaving the house much at all, especially at night when our vision isn’t as good as it used to be.

Funny how the universe sends us messages. I had no idea that my refrigerator repairman would be the one to unwittingly advise me to make up with my younger sister. I haven’t told a lot of people about our falling out, and I won’t go into the details here, but a couple of weeks ago I became very upset with her, to the point of tears, and I sent her an e-mail, telling her I never wanted to receive anything from her ever again and I didn’t know that I wanted to speak to her ever again. The repairman said he had lost touch with his younger brother for about 40 years and he had passed away two months ago. It occurred to me that if my sister passed and I hadn’t mended my break in our relationship, I wouldn’t be able to until I reached the other side. So I need to decide how to say what needs to be said… it’s a bridge, in a way, that I have to walk over. I also have to learn how to forgive and forget what she did that made me so very angry with her. Her actions were a betrayal that opened up old wounds made by our mother. Not a good thing… and yes, I know that the bearer of grudges is hurt more than the person the grudge is against, but sometimes, we just can’t help it.

Enough whining …

I did get out and pull some weeds today — worked in my Iris bed, cleaning out dead leaves and grass that had come up with the winter rains. I got about 3+ feet cleared out and hit the wall of no energy, so I called it a day, cleaned up my mess and adjourned to the inside. In deadheading the Irises, I snapped off spent blooms that had baby blooms yet to be opened so I brought them in and put them in a small jar of water. They’ll open, and I’ll have Iris blooms indoors. Nice!

Be safe, be well, and please be happy. Be sure to tell those you love that you love them (unless you’re no longer speaking to that person, and then I’ll leave it up to you as to whether you mend the situation or not. I’ll understand if you choose not to.).

 

About tehachap

The easiest way to define myself is as a very happily married woman with two sons and two grandsons. My hobbies include reading, writing, sewing, trains (watching, photographing and running them in G scale), and travel. My husband and I are retired and we spend our winters in Arizona. I used to own a secretarial and desktop publishing business, but closed it when my husband retired in 1999. We have truly enjoyed our retirement years, and have fulfilled one of our primary goals in life and that is to own a home overlooking train tracks so we can watch trains 24/7. We are sincerely blessed in this life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday, April 29, 2016

  1. wyndes says:

    I don’t know if this will be useful advice, but it looks like you answered your own question within your post, namely you need to acknowledge to your sister that she got the brunt of anger created by old wounds from your mother. Even if some of your current anger is righteous and there’s stuff to forgive, the heat belongs to history. Maybe write a letter to your mother first, letting all that anger out on her (and then destroy it, of course) and then see if you’ve released enough of the old anger that the new subsides?

    Like

Leave a Reply

